Community Forum

IMAP timed out

Frequent Visitor

IMAP timed out

Started having these issues in Thunderbird some time ago.

My server settings:

imap.comcast.net port 993

connection security SSL/TLS

authentication method - Normal password

Are comcast servers too busy again? I switched to Thunderbird after I started getting Time outs in Comcast Web Email client. It helped at first, now it's back to worse.

Highlighted
Expert

Re: IMAP timed out

reanor wrote:

Started having these issues in Thunderbird some time ago.

My server settings:

imap.comcast.net port 993

I use imap.email.comcast.net port 995

connection security SSL/TLS

authentication method - Normal password

Are comcast servers too busy again? I switched to Thunderbird after I started getting Time outs in Comcast Web Email client. It helped at first, now it's back to worse.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Visitor

I am seeing the same thing, time-out reported by Thunderbird on imap.comcast.net port 993.  Burlington VT area.  This has been going on for a week or so here. 

Expert

Tony_B wrote:

I am seeing the same thing, time-out reported by Thunderbird on imap.comcast.net port 993.  Burlington VT area.  This has been going on for a week or so here. 

Have you tried changing your settings to what I posted above?

imap.email.comcast.net

port 995

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Frequent Visitor

It works well but on port 993, not 995.

Contributor