Community Forum

How do I unlink my Gmail account from my Comcast mail?

New Poster

How do I unlink my Gmail account from my Comcast mail?

How do you unlink a Gmail account? It is importing every message ever received and all the ones saved. It is swamping my Comcast mail! Help!

Expert

Re: How do I unlink my Gmail account from my Comcast mail?

I'm assuming you had added the Gmail account to the Comcast account as an external one using the "Add mail account" section in the left folder pane-----------yes?  If so, on the Inbox page click on the gear icon in the upper right corner, then on Settings.  In the left pane click on "Accounts".  The Gmail account should be there.  Look to the right of it and you should see a small trashcan icon.  Click on that to delete it.  You might have to sign out of the account and back in again to get the change to "take".

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
New Poster

Thank you. Comcast's instructions are woefully inadequate.  I couldn't find it anywhere. Thank goodness we have this asset.

Frequent Visitor

I did this, but the gmail account does not appear under Accounts and yet it stays under my Comcast Inbox and is empty.  I'd like to remove it from below my comcast Inbox.  My gmail has suddenly stopped appearing in the Gmail inbox so I'd like to just delete it.

Any suggestions appreciated!

Thank you!

Expert

@johngerard wrote:

I did this, but the gmail account does not appear under Accounts and yet it stays under my Comcast Inbox and is empty.  I'd like to remove it from below my comcast Inbox.  My gmail has suddenly stopped appearing in the Gmail inbox so I'd like to just delete it.

Thank you!