Community Forum

Comcast E-Mail issues with Cloudflare DNS 1.1.1.1

Regular Contributor

Comcast E-Mail issues with Cloudflare DNS 1.1.1.1

I have been using Cloudflare DNS for the past 4 months without any problem. I have my router, Win 7 PC and Android phones all configured to use it.

But for the past few days, I was no longer getting any of my Comcast.net email on my PC or Phones (when connected through the router with Cloudflare DNS). My other non-comcast email continued to work fine.

I tested my phone by connected to AT&T LTE and it was able to check my Comcast.net emails. Or if I remove the Cloudflare DNS from the router and PC, then the phone and PC can check the Comcast.net email.

It seems to me that after 4 months of no issues, that this may be intentional on Comcast for them to "force" people not to use Cloudflare?

Tonight I changed everything over to Google DNS 8.8.8.8/8.8.4.4 and that works just fine with Comcast.net email.

Highlighted
Regular Contributor

Re: Comcast E-Mail issues with Cloudflare DNS 1.1.1.1

@FAUguy wrote:

I have been using Cloudflare DNS for the past 4 months without any problem. I have my router, Win 7 PC and Android phones all configured to use it.

But for the past few days, I was no longer getting any of my Comcast.net email on my PC or Phones (when connected through the router with Cloudflare DNS). My other non-comcast email continued to work fine.

I tested my phone by connected to AT&T LTE and it was able to check my Comcast.net emails. Or if I remove the Cloudflare DNS from the router and PC, then the phone and PC can check the Comcast.net email.

It seems to me that after 4 months of no issues, that this may be intentional on Comcast for them to "force" people not to use Cloudflare?

Tonight I changed everything over to Google DNS 8.8.8.8/8.8.4.4 and that works just fine with Comcast.net email.