Community Forum

Xfinity showing extremely high data usage. Can't get any help from Xfinity

Expert

Re: Xfinity showing extremely high data usage. Can't get any help from Xfinity

Have you had any other modems registered with Comcast in the past? If you look at your equipment list does it show anything other than your current equipment?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Contributor

geek - silly question time - DDOS?  Really?

Here's my beef - Comcast benefits from the high data usage.  There is no incentive for them to help.  For all their fussing (original work censored - lol) about how video streaming compromises their ability to deliver great service to all of their customers, I would expect their network team to be ALL OVER DDOS and other types of attacks.

Contributor

Well, just revisited this thread.  I too continue to have the very high data usage.  However, I have learned some interesting things about DOCSIS 3.0 and cable modems in general.  Some data points

1. Since others have mentioned going and getting a Comcast modem, I'll state that I do not have a comcast modem, mine is an Arris SURFBoard SB6121.  Tech said it would work fine.
  2. Comcast technical support regarding this matter is criminally insane.  I'm looking into canceling and will just pay the termination fee.
  3. Post after post after post - "Comcast says the change is probably due to a virus or unauthorized access."  Comcast, you're just lazy.

Worse, with so many people reporting usage up and down, you have lost all credibility.  You have MANY technically competitent people
    in this forum, most of them willing to work with you.  Your lame answers are an insult to their intelligence.