Community Forum

Xfinity Self Install Possible with DirecTV?

New Poster

Xfinity Self Install Possible with DirecTV?

Hello. I just received my Xfinity self install kit for my internet. I am switching from ATT internet. However, I still have DirecTV. Can I hook up my internet myself as ATT internet does not use coax cables and the coax cables currently coming from the walls are going to the DirecTV boxes so I am assuming they are coming from the DirecTV satalite? Am I able to do this or do I need a tech to come out? Please help. Thank you.

WPBDIYGuy

Expert

Re: Xfinity Self Install Possible with DirecTV?

Typically DirectTV will disconnect your Comcast service at the side of your house, but not always. No harm in hooking up your modem and seeing if it works. Most likely though, you'll need a tech to get it installed properly.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Problem Solver

Hello WPBDIYGuy,

I can corroborate what nerdburg has said. To add, most houses usually only have one wired connection into their home. I would suggest putting a splitter at the connection from the wall and try to plug in your modem, although this probably will not work. If you cannot get it to work, I will schedule you an installation and wave the associated fee. Please reach back out as soon as you have a chance to test.

New Poster

Hi CCCurtiss,