Community Forum

New customer, issues on day 1

Highlighted
Regular Visitor

New customer, issues on day 1

I'm a new customer (coming from AT&T Uverse) and had a tech visit my house on 4/10.  He did what he needed to do outside such as check the condition of the wiring and connectors and replaced what he needed.  Before he left he registered the Netgear CM1150V modem I just bought and gave me a bag of equipment (primary STB/DVR, add-on STB, three short lenghts of coax, and a splitter).

I was surprised I didn't see any significant self-install guide but I'm an electrical engineer so I wasn't worried.  Boy was I naive.  The installation tech did tell me that all I need to do is connect the cable modem to a coax output, enter the MAC address and maybe answer some other questions and I'd be set.

First of all, I have three cable outlets in my house (one downstairs, one in a loft, and one in the master bedroom).  The outlet in the loft is centrally located so I thought that'd be optimal for the modem and my TP-Link AC5400X router.  It's also not really convienent to connect the networking equipment to either of the other two outlets due to lack of space.

I did the self-install activation (xfinity.com/activate) and it recognizes my address of service but I get the following error:

Sorry, that didn't go as planned.

The cable modem is not connecting to the service.  The xfinity website states there's a signal problem -- they cannot "see" the modem.  To add to that, Comcast came out to my house while I was away.  They left a note stating that there might be a problem with wiring or a connector and they need to come into the house to check.  I called the phone number on the note and was told the earliest appointment I could get was 6/9!  Yes, June!  Obviously that's not going to work and I shouldn't expect to pay for 2 months of service that I can't use.