Community Forum

Horrible new service setup experience

Frequent Visitor

Horrible new service setup experience

I recently signed up for XFinity Home + Gig-speed Internet and 4k DVR service, went all-out.  I had originally tried to get it installed on Saturday, the day after I received the keys to my new home, but somehow got scheduled for this (Tuesday) morning, right about when my morning meetings are scheduled (I work as a software developer, from home - right now I'm forced to rely on my personal hotspot via my phone). My 8AM appointment rolls around, and when the tech shows up, I get told that the he can't do anything, because my tap is broken (and too old to service Gigabit internet anyways), they're putting my install on hold, and that they'd have someone out today to take care of it. 5hrs later, two more guys show up, not to fix the tap, but to install my security system, which they can't do, because there's no cable running to my house, because the tap is still broken, and no one was actually called to fix it. They did leave me a nice paperweight, which I was assured was my new modem (I can't be sure though, because there's still no service to my house). I get on customer service chat, and they assure me they'll have someone here by 5PM to take care of it. When I hadn't received an appointment confirmation by 10 minutes to 5, I got back on customer service chat, to find out what's going on. I've been on this chat since then (about half an hour), my tech is still a no-show, nobody can tell me where he is, and no one will give me an ETA on when to expect one.

Frequent Visitor

Re: Horrible new service setup experience

Have now been sitting on a silent chatline with someone who assured me she's very sorry for all my inconvenience, for about 20 minutes, for a total of 40 worthless minutes spent on customer service chat.

Frequent Visitor