Community Forum

EXTREME DATA USAGE !!?

New Poster

EXTREME DATA USAGE !!?

Hi,<br><br>I have been an xfinity customer for several years now. I am very pleased with the service and I wish to continue being a customer. However, this may change. I have been battling an issue since November 2017. I received an email from XFINITY stating that they changed my internet speed to 300+ Mbps *free of charge* in order to make the “xfinity experience better” without my permission. (violating the agreement that i signed for I think?)<br><br>Before November, my internet data usage was well below 1TB of data used per month. Now I am reaching numbers as high as 5,112 GB used per month. But how? I have a small one bedroom home with few devices connected. I have changed my router SSID and password. I have an XBOX ONE, Apple TV, HP Printer, ASUS laptop, Apple iPhone and the Apple iPad all connected to my network. <br><br>According to XFINITY with 1TB (1000 GBs) of data I should be able:<br>- to stream 600-700 hours of HD video <br>- upload/download 60K high resolution photos<br>- play 12,000 hours of online video games<br>- stream more than 15,000 hours of music<br><br>and this month although it has only been 11 days I have managed to use over 1405 GBs of data <br><br>My data usages by month since November:<br>NOV 2017: 2892 GB<br>DEC 2017: 5112 GB<br>JAN 2018: 3092 GB<br><br>What the heck is going on??? Why do I keep getting these extreme numbers! I do not use my internet all day long, I have a life. I have other things to do besides stay home and consume internet all day. Mathematically none of this makes sense to me.
Expert

Re: EXTREME DATA USAGE !!?

These folks deal with data usage inquires:

Customer Security Assurance 

• Business Hours: 6:00am - 2:00am EST, 7 days a week

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.