Community Forum

Disconnected ground(?) wire from cable line entry into home.

Frequent Visitor

Disconnected ground(?) wire from cable line entry into home.

Upon inspection of the cable box outside my house, I found a dangling green wire. See attached photo. I assume this was once connected to ground somewhere. Comcast ran a new line to my house several months ago, which was connected inside this grey box. Everything so far has been fine inside the home regarding TV and Internet, but I wonder if this ground wire should be connected to ground for safety / code compliance. Can anyone assist?

cablebox_outside.jpg
Expert

Re: Disconnected ground(?) wire from cable line entry into home.

I've asked a Comcast employee to help you. You should expect a reply in this thread. 

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Official Employee

Hello,

I would like to look into this for you from here. To protect the privacy of your account, please send me a private message verifying your full name, street address including city, state, and zip code (and apartment number if one is associated), and the full account number or phone number associated with your services. To send a private message click on my name, then click private message me.

I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: CARE, Product, Leadership. We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Contributor