Community Forum

Comcast Keeps Sending Unwanted xFi Gateway

Highlighted
Regular Contributor

Comcast Keeps Sending Unwanted xFi Gateway

In December, both I and my dad got letters from Xfinity stating that they were sending each of us an xFi Gateway.  We didn't order these, and I tried to cancel the shipments, but they got delivered.  I talked with a Comcast employee about this, and (s)he couldn't stop the shipments, either.  I had to send both back.

Today, I got the same letter from Xfinity.  They are sending out another xFi Gateway.

Is this happening to any of you?

Expert

Re: Comcast Keeps Sending Unwanted xFi Gateway

You're getting the new devices because your current device will no longer be supported by Comcast. At some point, your current gateway will stop working properly. 

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Contributor

Re: Comcast Keeps Sending Unwanted xFi Gateway

@Nerdburg wrote:

You're getting the new devices because your current device will no longer be supported by Comcast. At some point, your current gateway will stop working properly. 

Nerdburg,

I understand why they are sending the device; it's stated in every letter I get. I understood why the first time they sent it, and I sent it back then.
I don't want their gateway. I've read all about it. It's too simplistic. Sure, it's got flashy apps for those who think all that's cool, but I want to use my own individual modem and router. I want more control over my setup.