Community Forum

$60 home site visit charge for a tech visit that was requested by Comcast support to fix my internet

Regular Visitor

$60 home site visit charge for a tech visit that was requested by Comcast support to fix my internet

Lets start with Comcast added a $60 in home site visit charge to my account with out telling me of charges and my issue was not fixed on top of it.

Let me start by stating I work in IT and know my way around a network and internet. My home internet was working fine for sometime. Fairly recently I began noticing speed degradation from 100-150Mbs speeds to 2-20mbps. I contacted support and they claimed that my modem could have gone bad and I would need to replcae my modem. I ordered a new $170 Motorola Docsis3.1 MB8600 modem and called back to have them swap my MAC address and setup the new device. After changing out the modem with Comcast, I still had issues. I removed all devices and plugged a laptop directly into the modem and still issues with speeds. The tech stated that at this point I need a tech to visit to see what is going. He stated times he had available and we scheduled the visit.  Move onto tech visit - tech came into home and saw my issues. He said maybe it was the wiring to the building so we went through and re-crimped all cables from inside to out and tried again - still nothing. I asked him to  use his tool to check levels and he stated his IPhone would be able to do this and saw a bit of issues with our levels. We went though the normal trobleshooting process of removing all devices, firewalls and plugged a laptop directly into it and still the same issue. He called a supervisor who I spoke with and still had issues. After a bit the speeds went from 20 -80 and then all over. The supervisor stated that he would watch over this and check on things for a bit as the tech was not able to to anything more. After and hour or so my speeds were still up and down. At this point, I gave up as another site visit would just re