Community Forum

All Locals are now 720p?

Most Valued Poster

All Locals are now 720p?

So a few years ago Comcast decided to downconvert ALL non-local HD from 1080i to 720p, but kept the locals at 1080i (PBS, CBS, NBC, etc). But a few days ago I noticed that now all the locals are also at 720p, meaning there are NO 1080i channels at all.

I confirmed this by going through my DVR Recordings over the past week, where recordings from local channels were 1080i, but now are 720p.

Why is this being done now on the handful of 1080i channels that we had left? Why can't Comcast just leave Locals at 1080i native resolution?

Expert

Re: All Locals are now 720p?

In the Mpls area mine are are still 1080i. 

My tv reads incoming resolutions. For 1080i signals watching over the air works better. Cable is acceptable, but it would be better if they switched to 1080p in the future. 2160p (4K) would include 1080p use.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Highlighted
Silver Problem Solver

@FAUguy wrote:

So a few years ago Comcast decided to downconvert ALL non-local HD from 1080i to 720p, but kept the locals at 1080i (PBS, CBS, NBC, etc). But a few days ago I noticed that now all the locals are also at 720p, meaning there are NO 1080i channels at all.

I confirmed this by going through my DVR Recordings over the past week, where recordings from local channels were 1080i, but now are 720p.

Why is this being done now on the handful of 1080i channels that we had left? Why can't Comcast just leave Locals at 1080i native resolution?