Community Forum

This is the VPN filter malware threat "MEGA-THREAD".

Expert

This is the VPN filter malware threat "MEGA-THREAD".

Please post all inquiries regarding this subject here in this thread. Please do not create multiple new threads on this subject. Thank you.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Frequent Visitor

Technicolor TC8305C gateway firmware updates

From what I've been able to find in xfinity forums, the last time the firmware for the subject gateway was updated was August 2014.  That seems like a long time to go without a firmware update.  Anything more recent?

New Poster

Over 500,000 home routers hacked, are we safe?

I saw this article about hacked home routers (https://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2018/05/23/vpnfilter-is-a-malware-timebomb-lurking-on-your-router/) and don't see the Xfinity provided Arrista routers on the list, but can someone from the company confirm that we do not need to take special precautions to guard against it (beyond the usual good advice: change default password, etc.)?
Expert

Re: Over 500,000 home routers hacked, are we safe?

@Brainclots wrote:
I saw this article about hacked home routers (https://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2018/05/23/vpnfilter-is-a-malware-timebomb-lurking-on-your-router/) and don't see the Xfinity provided Arrista routers on the list, but can someone from the company confirm that we do not need to take special precautions to guard against it (beyond the usual good advice: change default password, etc.)?

Please read this post.

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
New Poster