Community Forum

Norton Security update calls - scam?

New Poster

Norton Security update calls - scam?

I keep getting calls from a Comcast number talking about how they're trying to update my Norton.  Some calls are automated, some are an actual human being.  From my conversations with the human, I'm thinking this is a scam, but can anyone confirm?

Re: Norton Security update calls - scam?

@JDBreeze1 

Exactly what are these calls in regards to your upgrading - Norton Interent Security to Norton Secuirity Online or regardless of which of the before moentioned one you have to upgrade to Norton 360? The more info you can provde the better we can try to get an answer.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
New Poster

They've taken two forms. One is a prerecorded message that says "Dear user, we are in the process of updating your Norton Security Suite". Then it says to press 1 to speak to a person, but I haven't tried that.

The other is a call from an actual person saying that they're trying to update my Norton but something is being blocked. Then they ask me what lights are blinking on the front of my modem. When I answered that, he said "that's not a good sign, can you check something for me". The first time he called I couldn't check anything at that time. The second time I put the phone down to turn on my PC, but by the time I got back to the phone we had gotten disconnected.
Official Employee

Hi there, JDBreeze1. 

Do you have the phone number that called you? 

Thanks for posting to our forums! 

I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: CARE, Product, Leadership. We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
New Poster