Community Forum

Getting numerous "Notification of Claimed Copyright Infringement" emails listing wrong IP address

New Poster

Getting numerous "Notification of Claimed Copyright Infringement" emails listing wrong IP address

I've gotten ~5 of these notices recently (got the first one sometime last year, and then four more in the last week).  They are all identical except for the "Infringement Date".  All mention the same infringing filename and IP address.  I have seen these notices before - when I lived with my parents they got a similar notice and my brother had to delete some files he downloaded.  So I understand how it is supposed to work.  The problem is, the IP address they list is not my IP address.  Now, I am quite tech savvy and have a fairly solid understanding of networking.  I wouldn't say I'm an expert, but I'm well above a beginner.  My external IP address, reported by Google and "whatsmyip.com", is 24.xxx.xxx.xxx.  The IP listed in the report is 75.65.145.235.  If I use a geolocation service, I can see that 75.65.145.235 is also a Comcast IP address and is assigned to someone in Olive Branch, Mississippi.  I do not live anywhere near Mississippi.  If I put the IP address in a browser, it forwards me to somebody's WD Home NAS device login page.  So, this is clearly an IP address still assigned to somebody else.  I will note that I have had the same IP address (starting with 24) since before I got the first notice. 

I called the number listed in the email earlier today and spoke to two agents for about an hour.  They were unable to comprehend that the IP address might belong to someone else.  I tried to find out what they had listed for my IP address but all they had was an ipv6 address.  I don't have ipv6 enabled on any of my routers or modems so I'm not able to tell if that is correct or not.