Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,595,560

members

47

online now

1,779,775

discussions

Back to Top

tv cable box use with internet also ?

Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-25-2011
Posts: 20
Message 1 of 4 (900 Views)

tv cable box use with internet also ?

I'm an XFINITY tv subscriber,I' want too no if I' can use my tv cable box for internet also since it has an Ethernet port on the back of this tv HD set top box? my tv cable box XFINITY model RNG110 thanks
3 REPLIES
Posted by
Bronze Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎12-05-2010
Posts: 3,453
Message 2 of 4 (868 Views)

Re: tv cable box use with internet also ?

The either net port on your cable box is disabled at this time and can not be used for Internet. Not sure what or if comcast has any plans for that port in the future.
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,783
Message 3 of 4 (814 Views)

Re: tv cable box use with internet also ?

FWIW, you would need a cable modem. Here is an example;

 

http://www.amazon.com/Zoom-DOCSIS-Cable-Modem-5341J/dp/B0063K4NN6




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Edited on
‎12-09-2013 01:32 AM

Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-25-2011
Posts: 20
Message 4 of 4 (773 Views)

Re: tv cable box use with internet also ?

[ Edited ]
thank u