Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,597,034

members

11

online now

1,781,079

discussions

Back to Top

touchstone modem address

SOLVED
Highlighted
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-15-2012
Posts: 6
Message 1 of 6 (727 Views)

touchstone modem address

I have a Touchstone telephony modem and am trying to tweak some setting but I dont know the address or name and password to it.

5 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,816
Message 2 of 6 (726 Views)

Re: touchstone modem address

What is the exact model number of the Arris / Touchstone device ?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-15-2012
Posts: 6
Message 3 of 6 (722 Views)

Re: touchstone modem address

tm402p/110

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,816
Message 4 of 6 (732 Views)

Re: touchstone modem address

That is a straight cable modem / bridge. There really isn't anything that is user configurable / "tweakable" in the user interface. If you want to look around in it the access address is http://192.168.100.1




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-15-2012
Posts: 6
Message 5 of 6 (707 Views)

Re: touchstone modem address

yea that doesnt load I read somewhere else that it has to be done by a tech.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,816
Message 6 of 6 (700 Views)

Re: touchstone modem address

O/k. I forgot to mention it, sorry. There is a current known firmware issue with that device that blocks out access to the U.I. that they are suppossedly working on with Arris.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon