Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,516,699

members

72

online now

1,717,348

discussions

Back to Top

port numbers

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-28-2009
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 5 (2,570 Views)

port numbers

hello,

 

i am usually problem free but this one has me snuffled. i have just set up comcast phone after using vonage for most of four years. i can not send or recieve mail. my internet connection ip number reverts to169.xxx.xxx.xxx

i need pop3 port number and smtp port number.

 

someone please help

Fred

4 REPLIES
Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎03-10-2004
Posts: 6,888
Message 2 of 5 (2,566 Views)

Re: port numbers

Please refer to the e-mail client settings detailed in this post and adjust your settings as necessary.

JR

Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎07-02-2003
Posts: 954
Message 3 of 5 (2,559 Views)

Re: port numbers

 


fredabel wrote:

hello,

 

i am usually problem free but this one has me snuffled. i have just set up comcast phone after using vonage for most of four years. i can not send or recieve mail. my internet connection ip number reverts to169.xxx.xxx.xxx

i need pop3 port number and smtp port number.

 

someone please help

Fred


 

Your problem is not with the email function, but rather with the lack of a proper internet connection.

 

Describe your system, modem(s), router, etc, and one of the experts will be able to help you trouble shoot the problem.

 

 

--
Claude
Posted by
Edited on
‎07-26-2010 08:27 AM

Service Expert

Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 16,299
Message 4 of 5 (2,527 Views)

Re: port numbers

[ Edited ]

IP addresses that start with 169. indicate you have an invalid IP address. I found this out 2 weeks ago when I was dealing with a router issue.

 

Read THIS ARTICLE:How to change a 169 IP Address, Try the steps to see if you can resolve your issue.

 

Please post back with the results. If it doesn't work, a connection expert can assist you further.

 

 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎07-26-2010 11:17 AM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,193
Message 5 of 5 (2,516 Views)

Re: port numbers

[ Edited ]

Reset the modem using the recessed reset button on the rear. You'll need something like a pen or a bent paper clip. Depress and hold the button in until the indicator lights begin to flicker, then release. Any joy now ?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program