Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,498,732

members

58

online now

1,704,273

discussions

http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

SOLVED
Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎08-13-2011
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 15 (417,449 Views)

http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

So I'm trying to set up my router and all of the websites i navigate to (including this one) load just fine, but the website to set up my router (http://10.0.0.1) and most importantly, password protect it, is not loading. It times out. Anyone else have this problem? Any suggestions/solutions?

 

Specs:

I'm am connected to the internet by ethernet to the rented comcast modum- i'm not connecting via the router, though it is working (I can see it as a possible wireless network when i turn on my airport)

router is a rented Netgear n150 wireless router WNR 1000v2 - rented through comcast

browser is mozilla firefox 3.6.8

opperating system is Mac OS X 10.6.8

14 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎08-13-2011 10:18 AM

Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎10-03-2003
Posts: 5,374
Message 2 of 15 (434,903 Views)

Re: http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

[ Edited ]

The default LAN IP range for that router is 192.168.1.0/24.

 

try http://192.168.1.1

 

If that doesn't work, you will need to determine your default gateway defined in the TCP/IP configuration in your computer.

 

I don't have details on doing that on a Mac....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎08-13-2011 01:08 PM

Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 3 of 15 (417,405 Views)

Re: http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

[ Edited ]

On a Mac with 10.6.8, you do that one of several ways:

 

Apple -> System Preferences -> Network -> (select connection type) -> Advanced... -> TCP/IP

 

The field you want is Router under IPv4.

 

If you Mac is using DHCP to get its IP setup, then either of these Terminal commands will also get your router IP address:

 

Ethernet: ipconfig getoption en0 router

Airport: ipconfig getoption en1 router

 

There are probably other ways as well.

 

Oh, and time for a browser upgrade, Firefox 3 is 2 major versions back.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎06-24-2009
Posts: 3
Message 4 of 15 (411,112 Views)

Re: http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

Thanks for posting that info , it helped me get to the right page but I still can't figure out how to change the starting user name and password. Yes I know it says the user name will always be admin, but I can't figure out how to change the password from password to my word. I am very computerilliterate, but am learning. Smiley Happy

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 5 of 15 (411,073 Views)

Re: http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

What router?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎06-24-2009
Posts: 3
Message 6 of 15 (410,958 Views)

Re: http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

ts A WNR1000v2 NetGear. I think I'll just give it a rest and try to figure it out later.?.Thank you for your help.Smiley HappyI

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 7 of 15 (410,927 Views)

Re: http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

Try 192.168.1.1 instead of 10.0.0.1



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎02-25-2012 06:46 PM

Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎06-24-2009
Posts: 3
Message 8 of 15 (410,914 Views)

Re: http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

[ Edited ]

Thank you very much for your help , that worked to get it to load. I should've thought of that but I'm glad you did for me. Smiley Happy Blessed Be to all of you techs!

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 9 of 15 (410,862 Views)

Re: http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is


mtnlizards wrote:

Thank you very much for your help , that worked to get it to load. I should've thought of that but I'm glad you did for me. Smiley Happy Blessed Be to all of you techs!


You're very welcome. :-)



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎05-22-2012
Posts: 2
Message 10 of 15 (405,426 Views)

Re: http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

im usen xp and same prob. i did the reset and still cant load. tryed the other numbers in the older postes

Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,247
Message 11 of 15 (405,420 Views)

Re: http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

If you open a Command prompt window and run "ipconfig", what does it show as the default gateway?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎05-22-2012
Posts: 2
Message 12 of 15 (405,401 Views)

Re: http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

10.0.0.1

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 13 of 15 (405,379 Views)

Re: http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

Again, what router?  What is the complete output of "ipconfig /all"?

 

If the default gateway is 10.0.0.1 and your connection works, in other words you can visit web sites, get email, etc. then it's correct and SHOULD respond at http://10.0.0.1 .  If you are using an old browser when using an IP address instead of a hostname, you sometimes have to explicitly type the "http://" part of the URL.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,247
Message 14 of 15 (401,468 Views)

Re: http://10.0.0.1 not loading...everything else is

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,711
Message 15 of 15 (389,313 Views)