Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,516,102

members

10

online now

1,716,687

discussions

Back to Top

belkin router

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎10-30-2010
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 12 (9,393 Views)

belkin router

Hi everybody. I am new to this forum, and new to comcast. I have a Belkin wireless N router and I don't see it listed on Comcasts site as a supported router. Can anyone tell me if it will work or do I need to get a different router.  Thanks for any replies.

Jayr2

11 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 2 of 12 (9,391 Views)

Re: belkin router

Welcome to the Forum.

Comcast only troubleshootsthe routers that they provide under their Home Networking Support Programs.

That said your belkin Router should work nicely.

Just run an ethernet cable from the modem to the Wan Port of the Router and connect your pcs to one of the LAN ports or wirelessly.

Remember the Modem needs to be power cycled each time you attach a different device to it so power it down while you are conecting every thing up and then power up the modem.  Power up the Router and finally power up the pcs.  Use this same sequence every time you make a change and you should be good to go.

 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎10-30-2010
Posts: 2
Message 3 of 12 (9,385 Views)

Re: belkin router

Thanks you James for the quick responce. I will hook it up and se how it works. If I have any more questions I will be sure to ask you guys.

Again : thanks for the info.

 

Jayr2

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 4 of 12 (9,383 Views)

Re: belkin router

You are very welcome.  Don't forget to power cycle the modem every time you attach a different device to it.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎02-07-2011
Posts: 8
Message 5 of 12 (9,317 Views)

Re: belkin router

Well James that's not true because I have a Belkin G wireless router and it is not communicating with the comcast modem. Could it be because its a G router or what? Should I get a new router? If so which one is best with comcast?

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎10-03-2003
Posts: 5,374
Message 6 of 12 (9,310 Views)

Re: belkin router

 


rmoore4 wrote:

Well James that's not true...

 

Flawed logic...it IS true yhat if you swap out the device directly connected to your modem, you need to powercycle the modem so it will be recognized UNLESS all the devices you connect have the same MAC address (usually achieved by MAC cloning)

 

...because I have a Belkin G wireless router and it is not communicating with the comcast modem. Could it be because its a G router or what? Should I get a new router? If so which one is best with comcast?


Was your Belkin router used for a different type of internet connection previously? If so you may need to factory reset it following the manufacturers instructions. If it wasn't, and it previously worked with Comcast, and you get no connectivity between the modem and the router, the WAN interface on the router may be bad, or the cable betwen the router and the modem may be bad, or rthe modems ethernet interface may be bad. If you can connect to the modem using a PC, then that eliminates the modem being bad...check the cable...if the cable is OK, it may indeed be time for a new router. The question of which router is best for Comcast has been addressed myriad time in these fora...please try using the Search function.


 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎02-07-2011
Posts: 8
Message 7 of 12 (9,306 Views)

Re: belkin router

ok so really i just need a new router because i did all these steps i tried changing the MAC address and restoring the factory i even called belkin to assist me with this one and they still can't seem to figure things out so im going to have to move to another router. but like the router works and like i get the wi-fi and everything its just when i get on my computer, ipod ect.. and connect to the router it doesn't allow me to go online or anything. but when i connect the modem directly to my computer the internet works perfectly, and as for a new router you can't give me any suggestions?? i already know i need a Wireless N

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,185
Message 8 of 12 (9,286 Views)

Re: belkin router

IMO, don't ever buy another Belkin. Belkins bite. Ya can't go wrong with the big three. Linksys, Netgear, D-Link.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎02-07-2011
Posts: 8
Message 9 of 12 (9,269 Views)

Re: belkin router

thank you thats all i needed

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎03-18-2005
Posts: 82
Message 10 of 12 (2,243 Views)

Re: belkin router

I have the Comcast gateay also because I have the triple play. A modem will not enable digtal phone so a modem will not help. I think you can bridge the gateway then use the belkin with it.

If you do not have a phone with Comcast then get the modem suggested and use the Belkin with it.

I beleive you click to bridsge and also click to dsiable wireless unless briging does this for you. There is a place to disable wifi.

Could some one please look my post over as I too wish to use my Belkin N300 with the gateway. I may be wrong about needing the gateway because of the digital phone so want to be sure of my facts..

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎03-18-2005
Posts: 82
Message 11 of 12 (2,242 Views)

Re: belkin router

My Belkin N 300 works quite well with the gateway bridged.

I believe it is the only brand that offers conrinued support.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,185
Message 12 of 12 (2,227 Views)

Re: belkin router

Four year old thread now being closed.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program