Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,515,377

members

21

online now

1,715,924

discussions

Back to Top

Wireless router not work w/new modem

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-14-2003
Posts: 416
Message 1 of 8 (8,735 Views)

Wireless router not work w/new modem

Comcast sent me a Ubee modem to accommodate the speed increases to Blast. I got it to work when directly connected to the computer, but my router does not connect to it.

 

I have a Netgear 802.11G router (my own), which I know I need to upgrade fairly soon; in the meantime, what do I need to do to make it work with the new modem?

7 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,170
Message 2 of 8 (8,697 Views)

Re: Wireless router not work w/new modem

You need to properly powercycle/reset the modem each and every time that you change the device that is being directly connected to it by unplugging it from the power source for about a minute.

 

If it is a telephony type (CDV) modem with a built in backup battery, the recessed reset button on the rear must be used rather than just unplugging it from the power outlet in order to properly power cycle it. You'll need something like a bent paper clip or a pen tip. Depress and hold in the recessed reset button on the rear until you see the front panel indicator lights begin to cycle, then release. Now give it the time it needs to re-sync with Comcast.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-14-2003
Posts: 416
Message 3 of 8 (8,672 Views)

Re: Wireless router not work w/new modem

It could be that simple? No settings to change, even with a different MAC on the modem?

 

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,170
Message 4 of 8 (8,669 Views)

Re: Wireless router not work w/new modem

Did ya' try it ?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-14-2003
Posts: 416
Message 5 of 8 (8,664 Views)

Re: Wireless router not work w/new modem

Not yet. I'm working from home today and haven't had another period of time when I could be offline. I will this evening though.

Posted by
Edited on
‎08-24-2012 05:36 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,170
Message 6 of 8 (8,660 Views)

Re: Wireless router not work w/new modem

[ Edited ]

It's really that simple ! The modem has a MAC address cache. That, coupled with a CC residential config file, only allows one MAC addy access to the internet at a time. The modem remembers the last addy that it has seen so a powercycle / reset operation is needed to erase the memory and starts it with a clean slate to allow it to see the newly connected device.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-14-2003
Posts: 416
Message 7 of 8 (8,586 Views)

Re: Wireless router not work w/new modem

It worked! Thanks.

Posted by
Edited on
‎08-26-2012 11:19 AM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,170
Message 8 of 8 (8,581 Views)

Re: Wireless router not work w/new modem

[ Edited ]

Happy surfing ! Smiley Happy

 

While you still have this device, just make sure that you are using the wireless security feature/s.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program