Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,497,256

members

42

online now

1,703,457

discussions

WiFi Signal Boosters

SOLVED
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-10-2003
Posts: 172
Message 1 of 12 (39,269 Views)

WiFi Signal Boosters

Is anyone using a WiFi signal booster with the Infinity Gateway SMC Networks SMCD3GNV modem?  If so which one works?  I've heard that the signal boosters are kind of hit and miss when working with different modems.

 

Need to get a stronger signal to work behind my fireplace and in the upstairs bedroom upstairs.

11 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎04-16-2012 08:32 PM

Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎02-22-2007
Posts: 6,247
Message 2 of 12 (39,264 Views)

Re: WiFi Signal Boosters

[ Edited ]

Hello,

Many customers using that gateway are having similar issues with poor wifi signal reception. This is what my recommendation to do.

I would  call 1 800 363 2416 and get the built in router placed in bridge mode. Once the gateway is in bridge mode it will act like a simple modem. Then you can connect and use a wifi router of your own.

 

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-10-2003
Posts: 172
Message 3 of 12 (39,255 Views)

Re: WiFi Signal Boosters

Can you recommend a reasonably priced wifi router, or two, that will go though my brick fireplace and also reach the bedroom upstairs?

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-16-2012 10:33 PM

Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎02-22-2007
Posts: 6,247
Message 4 of 12 (39,248 Views)

Re: WiFi Signal Boosters

[ Edited ]

Hello,

If those are only your needs then here are my chooses but everybody has there own preference what might be good for me might not be good for you.

For netgear I like the WNDR3400,3700 and 4500 and the linksys E3200 which we use a lot at work. Never had any problems. 

Prices may vary a lot so it is best you shop around.

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-10-2003
Posts: 172
Message 5 of 12 (39,227 Views)

Re: WiFi Signal Boosters

Thanks, really appreciate the help and guidance 

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-10-2003
Posts: 172
Message 6 of 12 (39,207 Views)

Re: WiFi Signal Boosters

Is it possible that a signal booster would also work?

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 7 of 12 (45,549 Views)

Re: WiFi Signal Boosters

The SMCD3GNV has problems with many signal boosters.  Its wireless function is VERY poor, best to just bridge the gateway and get your own wireless router.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-10-2003
Posts: 172
Message 8 of 12 (39,181 Views)

Re: WiFi Signal Boosters

Thanks for the input.  Nice to have some experts for those of us that know next to nothing about networks.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎05-24-2006
Posts: 1
Message 9 of 12 (36,970 Views)

Re: WiFi Signal Boosters

We just got comcast internet installed with the router/modem combination SMCD3GNV (believe that is the correct numbers)  

2nd computer in the house is in the basement. (home office) and the router/modem is on the main level.

Home computer in the basement is showing only 2 bars on the wireless connectivity. I questioned the comcast person and he suggested getting a booster. But after reading the comments on this site, wondering if I should just buy another router and "bridge"it like was suggested.  I caught the comcast person before he drove off and asked him about this information I found on this site, asked him what bridge meant. He explained it would be just plugging the new router into the modem/router.

Is this what you are referring to?

 

Will I have to set up all the computers/ipads, etc with new user info and passwords?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎09-23-2013
Posts: 2
Message 10 of 12 (30,487 Views)

Re: WiFi Signal Boosters

We are having constant issues with losing the wifi signal. It happens mostly in the evening. It affects our TiVo,laptops,IPads and printer. I was reading the blogs here regarding other people losing or getting a weak signal too. They mentioned putting the Comcast Gateway in bridge mode,then purchasing another router. Is it difficult to do the set up on second router? And do we have to re set up other devices too,or will they be able to recognize and pick up the signal,like it does with the Gateway. We are at our wits end, and are considering hard wiring TiVo to router,but that does not solve the wireless issue with the other devices. Any advice or info would be appreciated. Thanks!
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎03-17-2014
Posts: 1
Message 11 of 12 (25,926 Views)

Re: WiFi Signal Boosters

I worked with Comcast tech support and they changed the factory settings so the wireless router is only on channel 11 and that seemed to resolve the problem I was having (no signal in rooms on the second floor of house when doors were closed).

 

This was recommended in lieu of bridging w another router

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,677
Message 12 of 12 (25,923 Views)

Re: WiFi Signal Boosters

Two year old marked solved thread now closed.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program