Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,609,229

members

9

online now

1,791,122

discussions

Back to Top

Upgraded internet bandwidth, hitting cap at around 92/12mbit

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-17-2017
Posts: 5
Message 1 of 8 (144 Views)

Upgraded internet bandwidth, hitting cap at around 92/12mbit

Hello,

 

I recently installed a few Ring doorbells and upgraded the internet speed to 200/20.  Unfortunately it seems I am hitting a cap at 92/12mbit.  Have super clean wiring, using a new Netgear Orbi router (mesh network).  Called into customer service a week ago and was told my 6120 Motorola is the issue (I know this modem can reach 150mbit) but I went ahead and upgraded to a new Arris 6190.  Retested yesterday using WIFI, Lan cable and every speed tester hits the wall at 92/12mbit.  Called back into customer service and they scheduled a technician to come out next week.  

 

I know that customer service has limited resources available to them, not sure what a technician is going to do.  Certain it's nothing on the wiring, equipment, etc.  It's a QOE cap or some limiter placed upstream, don't think a dispatched technician will be available to check any of this information.  Can somoene from a higher tier please see if they can resolve the issue?

 

Any questions please go ahead and ask.

 

Thanks!

Emil

7 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎03-17-2017 05:16 PM

Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎08-11-2016
Posts: 378
Message 2 of 8 (135 Views)

Re: Upgraded internet bandwidth, hitting cap at around 92/12mbit

[ Edited ]
Does that computer have 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet? Also have you tested directly connected to the modem?
Posted by
Edited on
‎03-17-2017 05:28 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 54,131
Message 3 of 8 (130 Views)

Re: Upgraded internet bandwidth, hitting cap at around 92/12mbit

[ Edited ]

Since you also tested that using WiFi, does your computer's WiFi wireless network adapter also support gigabit speeds ?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-17-2017
Posts: 5
Message 4 of 8 (119 Views)

Re: Upgraded internet bandwidth, hitting cap at around 92/12mbit

I tested using a ethernet from the Orbi, will try again direct from the router tonight.  My IPhone is connected using 5G and at work I can reach 200/200 symetrical, w/o issue.  Why I am saying it's some cap, is the bandwidth testing needle literally hits the wall, it doesn't burst above, go down, back up, etc.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-17-2017
Posts: 5
Message 5 of 8 (117 Views)

Re: Upgraded internet bandwidth, hitting cap at around 92/12mbit

The Orbi has a gigabit port and so does the laptop.  The 5G wifi of course can easily reach above 92mbit down.  Since wired is also hitting the same numbers, this is saying something.

Posted by
Edited on
‎03-18-2017 12:07 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 54,131
Message 6 of 8 (112 Views)

Re: Upgraded internet bandwidth, hitting cap at around 92/12mbit

[ Edited ]

They don't cap connections like that. 

One thing that you can try is to call 1-800-comcast and ask a rep to *roll and re-provision* the modem. Also ask them to confirm that the provisioning and account data in their database is correct and complete and that the correct configuration / bootfile for your subscribed to speed tier is being pushed to the modem.

 

Your account may not have actually been upgraded.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-17-2017
Posts: 5
Message 7 of 8 (91 Views)

Re: Upgraded internet bandwidth, hitting cap at around 92/12mbit

Roger, I will call in and have it re-provisioned and account checked.

 

Also later tonight I will confirm with the config file that is on the modem, hopefully will get this resolved.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-17-2017
Posts: 5
Message 8 of 8 (78 Views)

Re: Upgraded internet bandwidth, hitting cap at around 92/12mbit

Called in and my account is set for Blast Pro, prior speed was Performance.  Rep said the correct config file is present on my modem, just so happens that the performance pro speed is what I am getting.  arghhhh