Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,598,893

members

12

online now

1,782,481

discussions

Back to Top

Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 5
Message 1 of 15 (16,641 Views)

Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

I have had Comcast Blast internet service since July using the Ubee U10C035 cable modem installed by the Comcast technician.  The speed is great as long as I shut off the modem (unplug it) and let it reset.  After resetting download speeds are up to 25Mbps but very quickly drop to 8 to 10Mbps within a day and under 3Mbps by the next day.  It has become an annoying  daily routine to unplug the modem and let it reset in order to get the speed back up.  This has been going on since day one and is not a new problem.

 

Is there something I can do to fix this with the current modem or is this a known problem with this brand or model?  If I buy a different modem are there any suggestions as to what would be best?

 

Thanks for any help.

 

Mark

14 REPLIES
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 32
Message 2 of 15 (16,634 Views)

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

hi Mark, a quick question:

 

Do you use a router?  if so what brand and model number.

 

That particular Ubee is a good modem, we use those a good bit.  Its a Doc 3 so it can handle any speed you put on it.  If you wanted a different modem there are a few good ones to choose from, my personal choice is the Motorola SB6100 series modems, but that is not necessary.

 

It seems like either there is a degraded signal coming in or the modem and other equipment is out of sync or "lagging".  Did you swap out ethernet cords or plug direct in the case of a router?

 

 

 

 

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,874
Message 3 of 15 (16,613 Views)

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

What do your modem's signal stats look like ? Get them here; http://192.168.100.1 admin and cableroot are the username and the password.

Please post the *Downstream Power Level*, the *Upstream Power Level*, and the *SNR* (Signal to Noise Ratio) numbers.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 5
Message 4 of 15 (16,591 Views)

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

I connect the modem directly to a Linksys E3000 router with an ethernet cable.

 

 

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 5
Message 5 of 15 (16,589 Views)

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

Downstream power is 5.55 (There are 4 readings DS-1 to DS-4 and all are between 5 and 5.55).  Upstream power is 46.00 on US-1 and 47.70 on US-4.  I do not see anything labeled Signal to Noise ratio or SNR.  Could it be labled something else?

 

Thanks for everyones interest and help.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,874
Message 6 of 15 (16,585 Views)

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

The power levels at that snapsot in time were fine but do they remain stable when you perceive the issue ?

 

SNR might be expressed as MER.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 5
Message 7 of 15 (16,574 Views)

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

MER is 38.  The power levels seem to be stable.  I reset first thing this morning and got 25+Mbps.  When I took these power measurements this afternoon I was getting 12.5Mbps.  Reset again and at 25 Mbps I got essentially the same power readings.

 

It just seems like errors or something accumulates during use that brings the speed down.

 

Thanks

 

Mark

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,874
Message 8 of 15 (16,572 Views)

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

Try requesting a swap. You may be able to bring it to your local office and do it there.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 5
Message 9 of 15 (16,562 Views)

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

Thanks.  I will contact Comcast for a swap.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,874
Message 10 of 15 (16,559 Views)

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

Worth a try ! Hope that's the problem ! Good luck with it ! Smiley Happy




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 32
Message 11 of 15 (16,554 Views)

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

definitely take your modem and power cord down to your local office and swap it.  just make sure you specify that you are trading a docsis 3.0 modem and you want to get a docsis 3.0 modem.  mistakes have been made in the past with swaps. 

 

 

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,874
Message 12 of 15 (16,541 Views)

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem


damianfleece wrote:
definitely take your modem and power cord down to your local office and swap it.

Darn echos.... 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 32
Message 13 of 15 (16,527 Views)

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

it wasnt an echo my friend, I was giving him a definite answer.  He can take his modem and power cord to the local office and swap it.

 

and from my experience with the local offices I felt the need to make sure and inform him to tell them it was a Doc 3 and he needed a Doc 3 in return.  I have had many calls where a Doc 3 account was give a Doc 2 modem.  

 

Just trying to make sure he gets taken care of, not compete with you.  Have a nice day EG.

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Posts: 13,487
Message 14 of 15 (7,661 Views)
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Posts: 13,487
Message 15 of 15 (7,659 Views)

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

2 year old thread locked.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon