Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,514,079

members

41

online now

1,714,759

discussions

Back to Top

Technicolor TC8305C Modem losing Internet and Phone at Random Times

SOLVED
Posted by
Edited on
‎09-10-2013 04:51 AM

Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎05-05-2013
Posts: 5
Message 1 of 10 (19,255 Views)

Technicolor TC8305C Modem losing Internet and Phone at Random Times

[ Edited ]

Online and Phone are no longer lit on the modem. Resetting the modem usually (not always) gets it working again but It will just occur again within another 30 min or so (sometimes later) and will keep messing up till it decides to stop. This usually occurs late in the evening and happens almost every day. So I can fix it temporarily but why is it happening. I haven't had a tech come out yet. I think it may be an issue with the cable or possibly the amplifier in the attic. Edit*- just so happens it occured as i was typing this post and didn't come back on for a couple hours. This time the online and phone lights were out but every few minutes the online light would start flashing like it was trying to come on but would just turn back off. this process repeated till i just flipped the power switch on the strip outlet and it happen to come back online.

9 REPLIES
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Posts: 13,277
Message 2 of 10 (19,232 Views)

Re: Technicolor TC8305C Modem losing Internet and Phone at Random Times

We need more information please:

- Post your upstream and downstream signal levels. Click the link or type: http://192.168.100.1 or http://10.0.0.1 into your browser. We are interested in your power levels (dBmV) and your Signal to Noise Ratio (SNR). You may also want to contact Comcast and ask for your upstream SNR (uSNR) and receive level.
- Post your modem’s error logs.
- Post the make and model of your modem.
- Post the make and model of your router if you have one.
- Let us know if you contacted Comcast or had a tech visit.
- Let us know what the lights on your modem are doing when you are having problems.
- If you have already posted some of this information, you don't need to post it again.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎09-10-2013 05:14 AM

Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎05-05-2013
Posts: 5
Message 3 of 10 (19,222 Views)

Re: Technicolor TC8305C Modem losing Internet and Phone at Random Times

[ Edited ]

The first link doesn't work , the second one takes me to a login page but it  tells me the username and pass don't match even though i know it's right. I can log in normally elsewhere but not through that link you posted.

Posted by
Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎12-03-2007
Posts: 11,696
Message 4 of 10 (19,169 Views)

Re: Technicolor TC8305C Modem losing Internet and Phone at Random Times


StayFunny wrote: ... it  tells me the username and pass don't match ...

Unless they've been changed, the Username is "admin" and the Password is "password". See http://customer.comcast.com/help-and-support/internet/about-the-wireless-gateway

Posted by
Edited on
‎09-10-2013 02:50 PM

Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎05-05-2013
Posts: 5
Message 5 of 10 (19,159 Views)

Re: Technicolor TC8305C Modem losing Internet and Phone at Random Times

[ Edited ]
Cable Modem HW Version: 1.5 Vendor: Technicolor BOOT Version: 2.1.8_Technicolor Core Version: 01.E6.00.30 Model: TC8305C Product Type: Technicolor DOCSIS 3.0 advanced cable gateway Flash Part: 64MB Download Version: 01.E6.00.30 Serial Number: 1251203078
 
Downstream Channel Bonding Value Index 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Lock Status Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked
Frequency 609 MHz 567 MHz 573 MHz 579 MHz 585 MHz 591 MHz 597 MHz 603 MHz
SNR 38.6 dB 38.6 dB 38.6 dB 38.8 dB 38.9 dB 38.6 dB 38.6 dB 38.6 dB
Power -9.5 dBmV -9.0 dBmV -9.0 dBmV -8.8 dBmV -8.9 dBmV -9.1 dBmV -9.2 dBmV -9.3 dBmV
Modulation QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256
 
Upstream Channel Bonding Value Index 1 2 3 4 Lock Status Locked Locked Not locked Not locked Frequency 36 MHz 29 MHz    
Symbol Rate 5120 Ksym/sec 5120 Ksym/sec    
Power Level 54.0 dBmV 54.0 dBmV    
Modulation ATDMA ATDMA    
Channel ID 1 2

 

Also the security logs show a couple things marked Critical when it was having issues last night- 

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=8c:04:ff:39:7c:0e;CMTS-MAC=c4:71:fe:76:90:3d;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;  

 

and 

 

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - Re-initializing MAC;CM-MAC=8c:04:ff:39:7c:0e;CMTS-MAC=c4:71:fe:76:90:3d;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

also are a couple SYNC Timing Synchronization failures in there as well. And one marked Warning pops up several times --Dynamic Range Window violation 

These are repeated throughout the log if that means anything.  

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Posts: 13,277
Message 6 of 10 (19,148 Views)

Re: Technicolor TC8305C Modem losing Internet and Phone at Random Times

Well there's your problem, your signal is lousy. Usually this is caused by too many splitters or bad/substandard wiring. It's possible it is a Comcast issue, but most likely the problem exists between the tap (pole) and your modem. 

Is the is a recent install? Have you made any changes lately? How old is the wiring?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎09-10-2013 04:02 PM

Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎05-05-2013
Posts: 5
Message 7 of 10 (19,144 Views)

Re: Technicolor TC8305C Modem losing Internet and Phone at Random Times

[ Edited ]

Only change made within the last few years was getting the new modem when comcast boosted their speeds. Other than that I'd say the wiring is fairly old and this issue has occured on the old modem as well. So I should probably get a tech out here to check it out?

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Posts: 13,277
Message 8 of 10 (20,280 Views)

Re: Technicolor TC8305C Modem losing Internet and Phone at Random Times

Yep. If you are worried about the bill, get the Service Protection Plan for $5/month, you only have to keep it for two months. So you can get all the wiring fixed for $10. You can sign up when you call in.

 

1-800-COMCAST (1-800-266-2278) or 1-800-XFINITY (1-800-934-6489)




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎10-27-2011
Posts: 9
Message 9 of 10 (19,110 Views)

Re: Technicolor TC8305C Modem losing Internet and Phone at Random Times

In some places the service protection plan is still $3.95 a month.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,142
Message 10 of 10 (18,007 Views)

Re: Technicolor TC8305C Modem losing Internet and Phone at Random Times