Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,518,055

members

31

online now

1,718,841

discussions

Back to Top

Samsung Smart TV wont connect to Arris TG862

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎12-30-2012
Posts: 3
Message 1 of 11 (8,002 Views)

Samsung Smart TV wont connect to Arris TG862

Bought a new Samsung Smart TV ES6900 from Best Buy. Was able to initially get connected to router and internet. Now I am having problems with it. Sometimes it does not recognize router. Sometimes it recognizes router but wont connect. Sometimes it connects to router but not internet. Sometimes it gets connected but immediately kicks me off. Anyone else having this problem? What are my options. I use Xfinity Cable, Internet, and Voice so I need a modem from Comcast.

10 REPLIES
Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎10-08-2003
Posts: 470
Message 2 of 11 (7,990 Views)

Re: Samsung Smart TV wont connect to Arris TG862

If at all possible connect your Samsung TV to the Gateway (modem/router) with an internet (LAN) cable.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-30-2012
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 11 (7,972 Views)

Re: Samsung Smart TV wont connect to Arris TG862

You're not alone - I'm having the same symptoms with a new Samsung UN65ES6500 and the Arris TG862.  Everything else ( two PC's, two Macs, an iPhone and and Apple-TV) works fine, but the Samsung TV won't make and hold a connection long enough to bring up a web browser.  It's a very nice TV, but the wifi connection is hopeless.  

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎12-30-2012
Posts: 3
Message 4 of 11 (7,954 Views)

Re: Samsung Smart TV wont connect to Arris TG862

Appreciate the suggestion but my modem is too far for that. The whole point of getting a tv with built-in wifi is to not have to use ethernet cable. any other suggestions to get wi-fi to work?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-31-2012
Posts: 3
Message 5 of 11 (7,896 Views)

Re: Samsung Smart TV wont connect to Arris TG862

I would mimic the comment about using a LAN cable.  I was unsuccessful until I ran the hardwire to my Samsung TV.  

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-31-2012
Posts: 3
Message 6 of 11 (7,895 Views)

Re: Samsung Smart TV wont connect to Arris TG862

depending on what services you want to use on the Samsung you might consider adding a Roku which has more reliable Wifi connection than the Samsung)

 

 

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎12-30-2012
Posts: 3
Message 7 of 11 (7,837 Views)

Re: Samsung Smart TV wont connect to Arris TG862

I tried the hardwire ethernet cable to see if it work and it did. I went a bought another wireless router (NetGear) and hooked that into my Comcast Arris router. I have the TV working off the NetGear and all is good. I was not happy about spending another $70 on a router but wanted the tv to be fully functional. Wish Comcast would not use modems that don't fully work.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎03-06-2013
Posts: 1
Message 8 of 11 (7,389 Views)

Re: Samsung Smart TV wont connect to Arris TG862

Hi addcohen...I think I am having a similar problem with my smart LG...just does not seem to smoothly stream as I expected it should, after subscribing to Comcast's "Blast" upgrade.  Can you give me some direction on how to make the cable connections bewteen the Arris and whatever router I might add, as you did?  Thanks

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,211
Message 9 of 11 (7,386 Views)

Re: Samsung Smart TV wont connect to Arris TG862


addcohen wrote:

I went a bought another wireless router (NetGear) and hooked that into my Comcast Arris router. I have the TV working off the NetGear and all is good.


FWIW, you now should really call in to have your Arris device put in to bridge mode because you are now cascading two routing devices (a double NAT condition) which will work but is not desirable and can lead to performance / configuration issues on your home network.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎01-24-2014
Posts: 1
Message 10 of 11 (5,591 Views)

Re: Samsung Smart TV wont connect to Arris TG862

I spent all day being bounced around on Tech support only to find out here that, as others have said, you need to use LAN connection.
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,211
Message 11 of 11 (5,587 Views)

Re: Samsung Smart TV wont connect to Arris TG862

Year old thread closed.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program