Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,514,638

members

13

online now

1,715,025

discussions

Back to Top

Packet loss, high ping/jitter

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎08-16-2012
Posts: 6
Message 1 of 8 (1,628 Views)

Packet loss, high ping/jitter

For the past week I've been experiencing some pretty consistent packet loss, and a lot of high ping/jitter which then leads to a complete disconnect for 10min or more. I replaced the modem with a new one, and the issue has not been resolved. Here is a pingtest I just did: http://www.pingtest.net/result/68097072.png

 

 

 

I'm using a Motorola SB5101U. and here is the information from my modem's signal page if that is useful to anyone: http://i.imgur.com/fuOx9.jpg

 

I also have the modem paired with a Linksys E2500 router, but the issues did not resolve by directly connecting to the modem so I don't think the router is an issue.

 

 

 

 

7 REPLIES
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎08-16-2012
Posts: 6
Message 2 of 8 (1,627 Views)

Re: Packet loss, high ping/jitter

Also, here is a screenshot of me pinging google.com 50 times while having some issues (right after posting this actually). I marked the high pings for easier viewing. Usually I'm getting a lot of packet loss, followed by a disconnect, but that is not present in the pingtest i posted in the original post, or here while pinging google.

 

http://i.imgur.com/AFRg2.jpg

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Posts: 13,277
Message 3 of 8 (1,612 Views)

Re: Packet loss, high ping/jitter

Your downstream signal level is pretty low, but not that bad. Typically that modem would operate just fine at those levels, but the levels could easily be fluctuating enough to knock you off line. Most likely you have a wiring problem between the tap and your modem.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎08-16-2012
Posts: 6
Message 4 of 8 (1,595 Views)

Re: Packet loss, high ping/jitter

What could the wiring problem be, exactly? A bad coaxial cable from the modem to the wall or a bad wiring in the house itself?

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎08-16-2012
Posts: 6
Message 5 of 8 (1,553 Views)

Re: Packet loss, high ping/jitter

I had not had any problems all day, but about an hour ago I suspected the quality was diminishing and the ping test confirms it: http://www.pingtest.net/result/68133938.png

 


The packet loss appears to no longer be an issue; The last time I saw it was about 3 days ago. but now it has been replaced by this very high ping.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,150
Message 6 of 8 (1,543 Views)

Re: Packet loss, high ping/jitter


vjburhorn wrote:

What could the wiring problem be, exactly? A bad coaxial cable from the modem to the wall or a bad wiring in the house itself?


FWIW, that would be an impossible question to answer remotely by someone who is on the internet and can only be assessed by an actual onsite physical intervention.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎08-16-2012
Posts: 6
Message 7 of 8 (1,481 Views)

Re: Packet loss, high ping/jitter

I see. Thanks then. Guess I will have to consider calling a tech out soon.

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎08-25-2012
Posts: 8
Message 8 of 8 (1,291 Views)

Re: Packet loss, high ping/jitter

I'm seeing same thing here. It started when I got switched to higher speed few weeks ago.

Did you call a tech yet? Was it fixed?

Thanks