Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,517,487

members

10

online now

1,718,155

discussions

Back to Top

New modem wireless or wireless router?

SOLVED
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-09-2013
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 4 (1,523 Views)

New modem wireless or wireless router?

My current configuration is an RCA telephony modem (from Comcast, no wireless) to a D-Link model DIR-655 wireless router to a Dell PowerConnect Mod. 2608 1Gb/s 8-port LAN switchbox and then to my network.

 

I have received a replacement modem from Comcast (technicolor TC8305C, telephony and wireless capable). My question is: Should I use the wireless capability of the modem and delete the wireless router or should I keep the D-Link router and disable the wireless option on the modem? Performance and security are the prime priorities.

 

Thank you for your assistance.

3 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎11-09-2013 09:31 AM

Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.

Member Since: ‎11-09-2013
Posts: 1
Message 2 of 4 (1,573 Views)

Re: New modem wireless or wireless router?

[ Edited ]

I have Comcast-provided modem Alaris TG862G and also used to have DLink DL-655 which developed periodic disconnect issue after couple years of use.  I found the Comcast modem to have more limited functionalities such as no quality of service (QoS) prioritization between connected devices, limited security settings (no finer grains, only 3-4 broad levels).  Signal is also weaker farther from the modem.  If your Comcast-provided modem/router is like mine and your DLink is working fine, I'd suggest disable the router function and use your existing one.  It's isn't a bad product, it's just that a dedicate router such as the DLink would have much more useful settings such as QoS, etc.  If you don't mind missing such things and the weaker signal (such as living in a small house), it's perfectly OK.

Highlighted
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,206
Message 3 of 4 (1,467 Views)

Re: New modem wireless or wireless router?

The CC supplied gateway(s) should be put in to FULL bridge mode by them (only CC can do this remotely) so that they act only as straight cable modems with which you use your own high quality router. Daisy chaining two routing devices is not a good idea.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-09-2013
Posts: 2
Message 4 of 4 (1,133 Views)

Re: New modem wireless or wireless router?

The bridging solution works fine. I am using my D-Link wireles router with no problems.