Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,516,056

members

41

online now

1,716,646

discussions

Back to Top

New Cable modem

SOLVED
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎02-21-2011
Posts: 18
Message 1 of 12 (4,069 Views)

New Cable modem

hi,

 

I would like to replace my SB5101 with my own modem. Can someone suggest a good one which offers router with 11n 5GHz connection?

 

I'm going through the approved list of modems and preferrably would go to a  DOCSIS 3.0 modem as I've performance connection.

 

 

Thanks

11 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,185
Message 2 of 12 (4,065 Views)

Re: New Cable modem

Motorola SB 6120 and your own "N" capable router. No combo modem/router gateway devices...




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎02-21-2011
Posts: 18
Message 3 of 12 (4,058 Views)

Re: New Cable modem

How about SBG6580?

Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎11-02-2003
Posts: 2,846
Message 4 of 12 (4,022 Views)

Re: New Cable modem

That's a gateway device, I believe......

Most give a "thumbs down" to gateways.....if one section goes down, you're out both a router AND modem....!

EG has the best advice, IMHO.....

Good Luck!

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎02-21-2011
Posts: 18
Message 5 of 12 (3,870 Views)

Re: New Cable modem

Bought Zoom 5341 and it's working fine.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 6 of 12 (3,844 Views)

Re: New Cable modem

Thats a good thing.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎02-26-2011
Posts: 1
Message 7 of 12 (3,771 Views)

Re: New Cable modem

Will it work no matter where you live? 

 

We are in the Chicago area and I am looking at a zoom purchase and need to make a decision by Monday night.  I have a coupon for Staples for $25 off.

 

Other than unplug the Comcast modem and plug the new one in, what else do I have to do?

 

Where do I take the Comcast rented modem?

 

Thanks

Posted by
Customer Expert

Member Since: ‎11-14-2006
Posts: 6,433
Message 8 of 12 (3,749 Views)

Re: New Cable modem

Take it back to your local office and be sure to get a receipt that they received it.

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 16,299
Message 9 of 12 (3,735 Views)

Re: New Cable modem

Keep your returned modem receipt in a safe place. Don't forget where you put it.

 

This will be proof that it was returned to Comcast if they "lose" it and you are asked to pay for it.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 10 of 12 (3,724 Views)

Re: New Cable modem


8thdayconsultin wrote:

Will it work no matter where you live? 

 

We are in the Chicago area and I am looking at a zoom purchase and need to make a decision by Monday night.  I have a coupon for Staples for $25 off.

 

Other than unplug the Comcast modem and plug the new one in, what else do I have to do?

 

Where do I take the Comcast rented modem?

 

Thanks


After you plug the new one in, call comcast and ask then to Activiate / Provision it for you

 

At the top of the Forum page are five tabs and a search box

Click on the Shop tab

Click on Retail Locations

Enter your Zip Code in the box and hit enter

There you will see addresses for Comcast locations

 

As said before, make sure you get a hand receipt and keep it in a sfe place

Another good thing is to wait a few days and then call in to Comcast and make sure the return of the old modem is showing in the database.  If not ask them to look and see where they provisioned your new modem.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,185
Message 11 of 12 (3,716 Views)

Re: New Cable modem


sam_net wrote:

 

Bought Zoom 5341 and it's working fine.


FWIW, so far I have read nothing but good reports/reviews about that modem.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Highlighted
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,185
Message 12 of 12 (3,694 Views)

Re: New Cable modem


8thdayconsultin wrote:

Will it work no matter where you live? 

 

We are in the Chicago area and I am looking at a zoom purchase and need to make a decision by Monday night.  I have a coupon for Staples for $25 off.

 


It has recently been added to their "Approved Modems List" so yes, it should "work anywhere".

 

http://mydeviceinfo.comcast.net/DisplayCMDevice.php?device=245

 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program