Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,517,899

members

83

online now

1,718,717

discussions

Back to Top

Networking in a multi-level condo

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-20-2011
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 10 (1,432 Views)

Networking in a multi-level condo

Hi,

 

I've been asked to help a friend network his three-level condo with Comcast Internet.  Currently they have a cable modem in the mother-in-law suite in the lower level attached to the m-i-l's computer. 

 

Now, they have a new computer on the third level and also want wireless available on the 2nd and 3rd level.

 

They have comcast cable connections on all three levels for TV, will we be able to put another cable modem on the 3rd level, or does Comcast only allow 1 cable modem per install?  If they do allow, is there a fee?

 

I can set up wireless on level 2 or 3 and see on both levels, but cannot see wireless on all 3.  If I put wireless in the basement, I can't see it on 2, apparently a very good floor between 1 and 2. 

 

Running cables between levels is not an option at this point, any ideas?

 

Thanks, Michael

9 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎03-26-2012 03:34 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 2 of 10 (1,431 Views)

Re: Networking in a multi-level condo

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-20-2011 09:42 AM

Service Expert

Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 16,299
Message 3 of 10 (1,429 Views)

Re: Networking in a multi-level condo

[ Edited ]

 


kudzu53 wrote:

They have comcast cable connections on all three levels for TV, will we be able to put another cable modem on the 3rd level, or does Comcast only allow 1 cable modem per install?  If they do allow, is there a fee?

 

Thanks, Michael


 

You can put a modem on the 3rd level but you will have to pay ANOTHER full charge for internet each month.

 

FWIW, we had issues not long ago and in desperation I went to Comcast and got a 2nd modem for one of our computers. They gave me a 6 month promo rate for  internet for that modem.

 

Since it was a promo rate, we were able to be comfortable with the Comcast bill.

 

Not to many people want to pay for internet twice so the wireless repeater is a good option for you.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎03-26-2012 03:35 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 4 of 10 (1,422 Views)

Re: Networking in a multi-level condo

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-20-2011 11:14 AM

Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎10-03-2003
Posts: 5,374
Message 5 of 10 (1,415 Views)

Re: Networking in a multi-level condo

[ Edited ]

In my opinion, based on experience, USB is a very less than optimal solution for networking...

 

If you can move the modem to the middle floor, connect it to a wireless router,  and install PCI wifi cards in any of the desktops that need wireless access, you would probably have a better experience....The best alternative would be to wire the condo for ethernet.....not always a viable option, but usually the best.

 

Does the wireless router have internal antennae, or are they external...if external, you may be able to play witht he antenna orientation to provide better siganl to all the floors. If they are internal, you don't have too many options...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,744
Message 6 of 10 (1,414 Views)

Re: Networking in a multi-level condo

I would look into both powerline ethernet to extend your ethernet to the upper floors from the router, that can feed both a wired solution to the upper floors, and you can also add a wireless access point to the wired portion to extend wireless coverage.

 

If the unit has coax running upstairs you can also use a MOCA ethernet solution to extend your ethernet from the router to the uppper floors and you can then have both wired connections available and add a wireless access point to extend your wireless coverage.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎03-26-2012 03:35 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 7 of 10 (1,404 Views)

Re: Networking in a multi-level condo

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-20-2011
Posts: 2
Message 8 of 10 (1,383 Views)

Re: Networking in a multi-level condo

Thanks everyone for the quick responses! 

 

I was thinking about the wireless bridge/repeater option, hoping for something simpler, will probably go that route.  I set up a wireless bridge recently between a couple of houses on my street using Ubiquiti equipment and POE, works great and it was cheap.

 

Thanks,

Michael

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-20-2011 02:37 PM

Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 9 of 10 (1,375 Views)

Re: Networking in a multi-level condo

[ Edited ]

In your situation, I'd take an in-depth look at powerline network adapters, and then hang the wireless router out on the 2nd floor providing coverage to 1st and 3rd floor, or maybe inexpensive WAP's on each floor.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎09-27-2008
Posts: 74
Message 10 of 10 (1,326 Views)

Re: Networking in a multi-level condo

 


JayInAlg wrote: 

If the unit has coax running upstairs you can also use a MOCA ethernet solution to extend your ethernet from the router to the uppper floors and you can then have both wired connections available and add a wireless access point to extend your wireless coverage.


I second this recommendation. I'm using a pair of the Netgear MOCA boxes to carry my home network via the existing coax and they work great.