Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,518,158

members

38

online now

1,718,928

discussions

Back to Top

Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-15-2012
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 7 (20,499 Views)

Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

I just got comcast high speed internet and i didnt want to pay $7 a month for the lease modem so i bought the SB6121 from newegg. However when try to activate the modem online the modem always reboots itself and i can activate. i honestly dont know if this is the internet's issue or the modems issue.

 

Any helpful tips you guys can spare me?

If the problem is the modem can you guys reccomend another one that a decent price?

 

-Eric (Jimmy is my dad's name)

6 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎04-15-2012 07:07 PM

Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Posts: 13,277
Message 2 of 7 (20,498 Views)

Re: Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

[ Edited ]

We need more information please:

- Post your upstream and downstream signal levels. Click the link or type: http://192.168.100.1 into your browser. We are interested in your power levels (dBmV) and your Signal to Noise Ratio (SNR). You may also want to contact Comcast and ask for your upstream SNR (uSNR) and receive level.

- Post your modem’s error logs.
- Post the make and model of your modem.
- Post the make and model of your router if you have one.
- Let us know if you contacted Comcast or had a tech visit.
- Let us know what the lights on your modem are doing when you are having problems.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Bronze Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎12-05-2010
Posts: 3,450
Message 3 of 7 (20,494 Views)

Re: Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Did the modem ever work? Did you call CC and ask them to set it up on your account? The computer set up process does not always work. call them tell them you want to set up your customer owned modem.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,211
Message 4 of 7 (20,484 Views)

Re: Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem


Jim721 wrote:

Did the modem ever work? Did you call CC and ask them to set it up on your account? The computer set up process does not always work. call them tell them you want to set up your customer owned modem.


FWIW, If the modem is not in "block sync" mode they will not be able to see it or provision it for service.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎06-08-2012
Posts: 1
Message 5 of 7 (18,983 Views)

Re: Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

I am having the same problem.  On my second sb6121 so suspecting it is comcast.

Posted by
Visitor

Member Since: ‎06-08-2012
Posts: 8
Message 6 of 7 (18,955 Views)

Re: Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

I had the same issue.  You actaully have to call Comcast and manually give them your modem's info. The web provisioning will not work. 

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,211
Message 7 of 7 (2,569 Views)

Re: Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem