Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,496,240

members

7

online now

1,702,856

discussions

Modem can't handle internet speed.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎08-06-2008
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 4 (818 Views)

Modem can't handle internet speed.

I received notice my Modem was unable to keep up with internet speed. Can you mail a new Modem with instructions to my billing address?

3 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,664
Message 2 of 4 (794 Views)

Re: Modem can't handle internet speed.

Browse to this link;

http://www.comcast.com/deviceupgrade/?SCRedirect=true

Fill out and submit form.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-20-2013
Posts: 8
Message 3 of 4 (704 Views)

Re: Modem can't handle internet speed.

You can go to your local comcast center and get a 3.0 modem for $7 a month or you can buy one for around $100..... Beware if you buy your own Comcast will need model number , information about your modem if you need help troubleshooting in the future....

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-20-2013 02:32 AM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,664
Message 4 of 4 (698 Views)

Re: Modem can't handle internet speed.

[ Edited ]

Specifically they need the HFC / RF MAC address and the serial number of it. This is for registration / provisioning it for service on the system purposes and really has nothing to do directly with troubleshooting it. If it is owned by the end user they will not provide any support for it anyway but they will troubleshoot your line.

 

In addition, if one has an eMTA / telephony type modem for their phone service, one may not be able to use a customer owned eMTA on the local system. Some local franchises still require that you rent an eMTA from CC.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program