Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,517,397

members

66

online now

1,718,095

discussions

Back to Top

Lag spikes

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎01-10-2011
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 4 (1,518 Views)

Lag spikes

Hello,

I have 2-3 seconds lag spikes approximately every minute while playing online games (Diablo, Dota, World of Warcraft) so that it is very frustrating.  It started in the middle of August, after a big thunderstorm hit I guess. Here is my modem signal levels, they are seem to be ok:

 

9 times out of 10 the traceroute to www.comcast.net looks like this:

Tracing route to a1526.dscg.akamai.net [23.67.250.128]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    33 ms    30 ms    29 ms  c-76-106-42-1.hsd1.md.comcast.net [76.106.42.1]
  3    10 ms    10 ms     8 ms  xe-4-3-0-32767-sur01.owingsmills.md.bad.comcast.net [68.85.81.57]
  4    10 ms    24 ms     9 ms  xe-5-0-0-0-ar04.whitemarsh.md.bad.comcast.net [68.85.115.17]
  5    18 ms    19 ms    15 ms  pos-2-11-0-0-cr01.newyork.ny.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.90.209]
  6    15 ms    15 ms    16 ms  pos-0-2-0-0-pe01.111eighthave.ny.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.87.226]
  7    18 ms    19 ms    18 ms  173.167.58.114
  8    16 ms    16 ms    14 ms  a23-67-250-128.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com [23.67.250.128]

Trace complete.

 The other times it's like these:

Tracing route to a1526.dscg.akamai.net [23.67.250.128]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2   671 ms    30 ms    25 ms  c-76-106-42-1.hsd1.md.comcast.net [76.106.42.1]
  3     9 ms    10 ms     9 ms  xe-4-3-0-32767-sur01.owingsmills.md.bad.comcast.net [68.85.81.57]
  4     9 ms    11 ms    10 ms  xe-5-0-0-0-ar04.whitemarsh.md.bad.comcast.net [68.85.115.17]
  5    19 ms    15 ms    16 ms  pos-2-11-0-0-cr01.newyork.ny.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.90.209]
  6     *       17 ms    16 ms  pos-0-2-0-0-pe01.111eighthave.ny.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.87.226]
  7    17 ms    18 ms    17 ms  173.167.58.114
  8   648 ms    15 ms    17 ms  a23-67-250-128.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com [23.67.250.128]

Trace complete.

 

 

Tracing route to a1526.dscg.akamai.net [96.17.72.83]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    39 ms    37 ms    21 ms  c-76-106-42-1.hsd1.md.comcast.net [76.106.42.1]
  3   644 ms    41 ms     9 ms  xe-4-3-0-32767-sur01.owingsmills.md.bad.comcast.net [68.85.81.57]
  4    15 ms    15 ms    12 ms  xe-5-0-0-0-ar04.whitemarsh.md.bad.comcast.net [68.85.115.17]
  5    20 ms    19 ms    16 ms  pos-3-5-0-0-cr01.newyork.ny.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.91.181]
  6   807 ms    16 ms    16 ms  pos-1-2-0-0-pe01.111eighthave.ny.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.86.74]
  7    18 ms    22 ms    17 ms  a96-17-72-83.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com [96.17.72.83]

Trace complete.

 

Also, I play World of Warcraft on a european server and I have lag spikes every 10-15 seconds. Here's the traceroute to the server I play on.  In 8 out 10 times there are timeouts on hop 7. I remember having these timeouts a year ago, but then I just stopped playing. Now, I got back and it is still happening.

Tracing route to 195.12.246.221 over a maximum of 30 hops

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    23 ms    20 ms    30 ms  c-76-106-42-1.hsd1.md.comcast.net [76.106.42.1]
  3    11 ms     9 ms     9 ms  xe-4-3-0-32767-sur01.owingsmills.md.bad.comcast.net [68.85.81.57]
  4    10 ms    11 ms    14 ms  xe-5-0-0-0-ar04.whitemarsh.md.bad.comcast.net [68.85.115.17]
  5    15 ms    16 ms    19 ms  pos-3-4-0-0-cr01.newyork.ny.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.94.61]
  6    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  pos-1-3-0-0-pe01.111eighthave.ny.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.86.190]
  7     *        *       18 ms  Vlan581.icore1.NTO-NewYork.as6453.net [209.58.26.129]
  8    16 ms    15 ms    14 ms  nyk-b5-link.telia.net [213.248.100.177]
  9    92 ms    84 ms    16 ms  nyk-bb2-link.telia.net [213.155.131.138]
 10    88 ms    87 ms    88 ms  ldn-bb2-link.telia.net [80.91.253.117]
 11    95 ms   117 ms    95 ms  adm-bb2-link.telia.net [80.91.253.208]
 12    98 ms    98 ms    97 ms  adm-b5-link.telia.net [80.91.246.101]
 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 14     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.

3 REPLIES
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Posts: 13,277
Message 2 of 4 (1,446 Views)
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Posts: 13,277
Message 3 of 4 (1,444 Views)

Re: Lag spikes

What modem? Is there a router?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎09-09-2012 03:58 PM

Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎01-10-2011
Posts: 2
Message 4 of 4 (1,421 Views)

Re: Lag spikes

[ Edited ]

Modem - Arris TM722G.

Router - Netgear N600 WNDR3400.

 

I tried connecting the modem directly to the computer, but I still have lag.

And this is wired connection.