Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,495,635

members

9

online now

1,702,443

discussions

IPv6 setup router for internet connection

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎01-17-2007
Posts: 3
Message 1 of 16 (32,035 Views)

IPv6 setup router for internet connection

I read that comcast was using the "dual stack" CPE for /128 or /64 Ipv6.  I will be hooking my router to computers running Windows 7, Ubuntu 10.04, Droid OS's.  My new Netgear WNDR450 router comes with many selections for IPv6 connectivety.  Out of the choices below, which one would work with comcast?  I read on a forum that the "6to4 Tunnel" setting is what works best for Comcast connectivety.  I would like to get that confirmed.

 

Auto Detect - Router detects the IPv6 type.

6to4 Tunnel

Pass Through

Fixed

DHCP

PPPoE

Auto Config - If your Internet connection does not use PPPoE, DHCP, or fixed, but is IPv6.

15 REPLIES
Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎02-22-2007
Posts: 6,247
Message 2 of 16 (32,020 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection

He

Your can start looking at this site http://www.comcast6.net/ to get you started.

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 3 of 16 (31,993 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection

It depends on your exact area and if you are included in the IPv6 trial.  If you are not in the specific area of California, or are using the business class service, then stick with IPv4 until such time as it does come to your area.  For example in my area (sourthern NH) no matter what IPv6 settings I set, nothing ever works, and both my cable modem and router both support IPv6.

 

So, unless it's being rolled out in your area, there is nothing for you to do besides watch and follow along.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎12-06-2011 05:40 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,648
Message 4 of 16 (31,984 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection

[ Edited ]

They were running 6rd trials in certain areas a while back but I believe that these have now concluded.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎12-06-2011 02:33 PM

Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎10-03-2003
Posts: 5,374
Message 5 of 16 (31,974 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection

[ Edited ]

I was messing around with mine a few months ago (in MD) and was able to connect via IPv6 using the 6to4 Tunnel setting...nothing else seemed to work...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 6 of 16 (31,970 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection

My router is v6 ready but I am not sure about the sb5101 modem. During the test it passed as 6 to 4.



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎03-21-2009
Posts: 1
Message 7 of 16 (31,955 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection

I am using IPv6 through a a 6to4 tunnel and it seems to work fine. Better, in fact, from my Linux machines than my Mac (I have no Windows to test with). My router is a Apple Airport Extreme and I've just changed the modem out to one that supports IPv6 in hopes that I'll get a real IPv6 range from Comcast some day. The 6to4 tunneling worked fine with the previous modem.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Posts: 1
Message 8 of 16 (31,897 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection

I am also in NH.  IP setup requires change of last 3 digits for online games. How do I do this on new system

Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,247
Message 9 of 16 (31,882 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection

What games do you use that require IPv6 rather than normal IPv4?

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 10 of 16 (31,865 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection


DonaldFanning wrote:

I am also in NH.  IP setup requires change of last 3 digits for online games. How do I do this on new system


No game I have every played online requires any such change and none of them require IPv6 since very few people actually have it at this point.  If you mean you need to change your IP address to get around an IP ban, that's an entirely different thing and has nothing to do with IPv6.  Perhaps you would care to explain things a little better?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-14-2011
Posts: 2
Message 11 of 16 (31,798 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection

Comcast started rolling out regular residential IPv6 this year.  It's going out slowly to different areas at a time.  The http://www.comcast6.net site is the best way to find out what's coming when.  I'd stay away from 6to4 though.  It works, but it doesn't necessarily work well.  You'll still use IPv4 in most every instance, except where a site is IPv6 only or you explicity connected to an IPv6 address.  Plus, it's technically a tunnel so you're adding latency to your connection and you can't gauranteee a return route.

Posted by
Edited on
‎03-19-2012 12:04 AM

Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎10-11-2011
Posts: 614
Message 12 of 16 (31,187 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection

[ Edited ]

gsparesa wrote:

I read that comcast was using the "dual stack" CPE for /128 or /64 Ipv6.  I will be hooking my router to computers running Windows 7, Ubuntu 10.04, Droid OS's.  My new Netgear WNDR450 router comes with many selections for IPv6 connectivety.  Out of the choices below, which one would work with comcast?  I read on a forum that the "6to4 Tunnel" setting is what works best for Comcast connectivety.  I would like to get that confirmed.

 

Auto Detect - Router detects the IPv6 type.

6to4 Tunnel

Pass Through

Fixed

DHCP

PPPoE

Auto Config - If your Internet connection does not use PPPoE, DHCP, or fixed, but is IPv6.


 

Your best bet would be the IPv6 DHCP since Comcast plans on rolling out a native dual stack. http://blog.comcast.com/2011/11/ipv6-deployment-technology.html I'm in the same boat with my E4200v2.  In the meantime what I did was go to hurricane electric, got a free IPv6 tunnel and followed these instructions. http://www.tunnelbroker.net/forums/index.php?topic=1850.0 and it's been working for me under extremely heavy load. I get 10/10 on both IPv6 and IPv4 tests and I can connect to any IPv6 site without a problem. Ideally this is a stop gap measure until Comcast rolls out that native IPv6 of course.

Posted by
Edited on
‎03-19-2012 12:01 AM

Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎10-11-2011
Posts: 614
Message 13 of 16 (31,185 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection

[ Edited ]

JamesR wrote:
My router is v6 ready but I am not sure about the sb5101 modem. During the test it passed as 6 to 4.

 

No your SB5101 is not IPv6 supported as of yet, according to Comcast's page. http://mydeviceinfo.comcast.net/

Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎09-27-2008
Posts: 74
Message 14 of 16 (31,103 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection


MikeWolf wrote:

No your SB5101 is not IPv6 supported as of yet, according to Comcast's page. http://mydeviceinfo.comcast.net/



One of the columns in the table of modems on that page is labeled "Pic." What is "Pic."?

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,648
Message 15 of 16 (31,101 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection

"Pic" = picture. If a picture of a particular device is available there, click on it and you will see it.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,648
Message 16 of 16 (31,099 Views)

Re: IPv6 setup router for internet connection

Four month old thread has run it's course. Thread closed.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program