Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,515,611

members

78

online now

1,716,207

discussions

Back to Top

How many devices can you have?

SOLVED
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.

Member Since: ‎06-30-2009
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 15 (66,590 Views)

How many devices can you have?

We have wifi at home and recently added four new devices (xmas presents). Does Comcast limit the number of IP addresses that are available on a home account or is it something to do with our router. We have a linksys. We have 8-9 devices accessing our home network. Sometimes one can't connect until we re-boot the router. Then a different device will get booted off. Just wondering where to start - comcast or upgrade router?
14 REPLIES
Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎12-15-2011
Posts: 1,375
Message 2 of 15 (66,588 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?

You get one IP from Comcast.  Your router can supply up to 254 address.  You need to start your troubleshooting at your router.  Make sure it is on the latest firmware and that you installed it correctly, power cycled it and reconfigure from scratch.  Make sure all your wireless adapters cards are fully upgraded also by going to the manufacturers site for upgrades.  What router model number do you have?

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎05-25-2011
Posts: 209
Message 3 of 15 (66,532 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?

I have three desktops, three laptops and 5 smart phones all connected via a router. There is no limit but you can run in to problems of overloading your connection. 

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.

Member Since: ‎06-30-2009
Posts: 2
Message 4 of 15 (77,623 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?

Thanks for the info. I'll start at the router!
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,172
Message 5 of 15 (66,509 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?

Check if there are any limitations in the DHCP range.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,172
Message 6 of 15 (66,506 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?


kraze1994 wrote:

 

There is no limit but you can run in to problems of overloading your connection. 


FWIW, there definitly is a DHCP range "limit", but it is rather high.....




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎01-01-2012 04:14 PM

Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎10-04-2009
Posts: 8
Message 7 of 15 (66,459 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?

[ Edited ]

Any router can support up to 254 additional devices. Actually 255 devices but 1 IP is reserved for the router itself.

 

Double check that the DHCP is not limited to x number of addresses. I've seen some limit theirs to 5 ip addresses only. This is usually an option set within the router itself and can be adjusted.

 

If this is not the problem you might want to check to see if there is a firmware update for the router.

Posted by
Edited on
‎01-01-2012 11:51 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,172
Message 8 of 15 (66,451 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?

[ Edited ]

Phill2 wrote:

 

Double check that the DHCP is not limited to x number of addresses. I've seen some limit theirs to 5 ip addresses only. This is usually an option set within the router itself and can be adjusted.

 


FWIW, that is typically with a Comcast supplied router or gateway device that has a customized *crippled* Comcast firmware load installed.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎01-02-2012 12:00 AM

Most Valued Poster

Member Since: ‎11-26-2003
Posts: 1,168
Message 9 of 15 (66,432 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?

[ Edited ]

I am running up to 15 devices at any time but it is rare that all devices are under a load.  I use high end routers and switches, with high throughputs, and have had no performance issues at all.  I highly recommend the Asus RT-N56U router if you plan to upgrade--outperforms my old Cisco business class router.  

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 10 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎01-02-2012
Posts: 11
Message 10 of 15 (66,413 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?

I have 44 devices on my subnet.  My router is a Linksys WRT160N running DD-WRT.  Everything works fine.

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎12-28-2009
Posts: 85
Message 11 of 15 (66,377 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?

I used a Linksys WRT350n DD-WRT firmware for years. Attached to it were 2 gigabit switches 2 Linksys WAP610 wireless access points. all of this was used for 4 desktops, 4 laptops, 5 PS3s, 2 kindles, 2 tablets, a network printer a netgear network storage device and a wii. Never an issue til the router died. Went out and bought a Linksys E4200v2 ((mistake on my part...  tho the v2 is a beefier router than the v1, the performance levels are actually signigantly lower. Add to that the V2 has a marvell chip set and not a broadcom so there is no chance for any kind of DD-WRT support in the future)) and still no issues.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎08-14-2012
Posts: 2
Message 12 of 15 (64,961 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?

Is there any truth about Comcast limiting to 5 the number of Wi-Fi connections one can make to any router connected to the Comcast cable modem? 

 

Thanks,

 

Karl

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,172
Message 13 of 15 (64,954 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?

Please re-read this thread. Not if you own the straight router and it isn't a combo gateway device.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎07-17-2013
Posts: 2
Message 14 of 15 (54,949 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?

Actually I am having the same problem.  After 5 devices are connected - no more can be added.

Posted by
Edited on
‎07-17-2013 12:05 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,172
Message 15 of 15 (54,913 Views)

Re: How many devices can you have?

[ Edited ]

Can't say for certain but I have read things to this effect in the past.

 

Year and a half old thread now closed.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program