Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,514,781

members

69

online now

1,715,168

discussions

Back to Top

How do you activate a new modem?

SOLVED
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎10-27-2011
Posts: 11
Message 1 of 10 (156,372 Views)

How do you activate a new modem?

If I bought a new cable modem to upgrade from my old one, how would I get it into service?

 

Will a comcast tech have to come to my house to enable it?

 

Will I have to pay?

 

 

If there is a clear, accurate, up to date answer out there already, let me know with a link.

 

Thanks!!!

9 REPLIES
Posted by
Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎12-03-2007
Posts: 11,706
Message 2 of 10 (156,362 Views)

Re: How do you activate a new modem?


rschneck167 wrote: If I bought a new cable modem to upgrade from my old one, how would I get it into service? Will a comcast tech have to come to my house to enable it? Will I have to pay? ...

If you have a tech install the modem there would probably be a charge. But a tech isn't usually needed. Please see this thread for DIY information: http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Connectivity-and-Modem-Help/Just-bought-my-own-modem-what-now-Do-we-nee...

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎10-27-2011
Posts: 11
Message 3 of 10 (156,361 Views)

Re: How do you activate a new modem?

I found this..

From expert user EG:

 

"You'll need to provide them with the make, model number, HFC MAC address, and the serial number of it in order for them to be able to provision it for service. You may be able to do this via their modem registration page that you should see upon opening up a browser. If not, then a phone call will be necessary."

 

Is it really that easy? The worst is I'll have to make a call and supply modem info?

Posted by
Edited on
‎10-27-2011 04:32 PM

Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎10-27-2011
Posts: 11
Message 4 of 10 (156,353 Views)

Re: How do you activate a new modem?

[ Edited ]

Thanks BruseW

 

your link was a perfect answer through first hand acounts!

 

It looks like the online auto activation will work if I have the 14 digit version of your account number. But I may have to call.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,153
Message 5 of 10 (156,335 Views)

Re: How do you activate a new modem?

Do you also have their telephone service ? If so, things become a bit more complicated.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎10-27-2011
Posts: 11
Message 6 of 10 (156,316 Views)

Re: How do you activate a new modem?

I do not have phone service with comcast. I think I never will.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,153
Message 7 of 10 (156,311 Views)

Re: How do you activate a new modem?

O/k, so it is "really that easy" ! Smiley Wink




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎11-02-2011 07:30 PM

Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎10-27-2011
Posts: 11
Message 8 of 10 (170,708 Views)

Re: How do you activate a new modem?

[ Edited ]

Ok so the manual way (bring up a browser and enable online) of enabling the modem didn't work...the browser could'nt even bring up any type of page.

 

So I called 800comcast and in 15 minutes had the thing humming along.

 

No fees.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,153
Message 9 of 10 (152,097 Views)

Re: How do you activate a new modem?

Comment moved to the Customer Service Forum for better visibility. Click on the above link to follow it there.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,153
Message 10 of 10 (152,096 Views)

Re: How do you activate a new modem?

Solved thread closed.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program