Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,518,212

members

56

online now

1,718,980

discussions

Back to Top

How do I move my modem to another room?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-27-2008
Posts: 3
Message 1 of 10 (9,244 Views)

How do I move my modem to another room?

I was wondering if I could move my comcast modem into another room with only an existing cable connection without any extra hardware needed and then move it back into the original room. I was wondering because I want to access xbox live i another room.
9 REPLIES
Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎11-10-2003
Posts: 5,499
Message 2 of 10 (9,242 Views)

Re: How do I move my modem to another room?

It may work, but it depends on how the place is cabled.  If multiple splitters are involved to get the cable where the xbox is, then you may have signal issues there.  But you don't need any additional hardware to try it.

 

Power cycle all equipment, whenever you change the device that the modem is connected to.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-27-2008
Posts: 3
Message 3 of 10 (9,238 Views)

Re: How do I move my modem to another room?

What is power cycling? Also the only thing I have in the other room is my cable/dvr box.
Posted by
Edited on
‎12-27-2008 02:01 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎11-02-2003
Posts: 2,846
Message 4 of 10 (9,229 Views)

Re: How do I move my modem to another room?

[ Edited ]

Bob....

Power cycling is simply powering down your modem/router for 30-60 seconds.....then powering back up.

This clears the CPE tables and lets the modem "see" the new device.

Good luck!

Message Edited by dsanbo on 12-27-2008 11:01 AM
Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎06-30-2007
Posts: 570
Message 5 of 10 (9,203 Views)

Re: How do I move my modem to another room?

I realize your trying to get xbox live in another room without spending any extra money, but investing in a Wireless Gaming Router would be the way to go.
Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,247
Message 6 of 10 (9,195 Views)

Re: How do I move my modem to another room?

I think it would be tricky to move the modem to a different room WITHOUT power cycling it.
Posted by
Most Valued Poster

Member Since: ‎10-31-2004
Posts: 1,210
Message 7 of 10 (9,189 Views)

Re: How do I move my modem to another room?


Barmar wrote:
I think it would be tricky to move the modem to a different room WITHOUT power cycling it.

Unless the modem contained a back up battery and he took less than 8 hours to move it between rooms.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,214
Message 8 of 10 (9,182 Views)

Re: How do I move my modem to another room?


AlisMan wrote:

 

Unless the modem contained a back up battery and he took less than 8 hours to move it between rooms.


It may indeed be a telephony type modem such as an Arris.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,247
Message 9 of 10 (9,167 Views)

Re: How do I move my modem to another room?

Even if it's a telephony modem he'll have to unplug it to move it to a different room. 

 

If it's a telephony modem then you ALSO have to press the Reset button, since power cycling doesn't turn it off.

Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-14-2005
Posts: 799
Message 10 of 10 (9,157 Views)

Re: How do I move my modem to another room?

I could move my modem to a different room without unplugging it, provided I move my UPS along with it.