Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,516,700

members

70

online now

1,717,352

discussions

Back to Top

Enable or disable "Block Wan Ping" option??

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-05-2008
Posts: 3
Message 1 of 6 (2,466 Views)

Enable or disable "Block Wan Ping" option??

I am using a Motorola 5101 and a Linksys WRT54GX2 (wireless G router).  There is really no reason for me to be pingable from the outside as far as my needs are concerned.  Does Comcast need me to be pingable? Become pingable or not??
 
Thanks,
Peter
 
PS
I searched this, but grew a bit tired of digging - sorry!
5 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,193
Message 2 of 6 (2,464 Views)

Re: Enable or disable "Block Wan Ping" option??

I always block WAN pings until and unless I am testing my connection using a remote test site / server. 



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-05-2008
Posts: 3
Message 3 of 6 (2,458 Views)

Re: Enable or disable "Block Wan Ping" option??

So - Comcast does not need me (the router) to be pingable?
Posted by
Edited on
‎07-26-2008 02:06 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,193
Message 4 of 6 (2,456 Views)

Re: Enable or disable "Block Wan Ping" option??

[ Edited ]
Nope.


Message Edited by EG on 07-26-2008 02:06 PM



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-05-2008
Posts: 3
Message 5 of 6 (2,443 Views)

Re: Enable or disable "Block Wan Ping" option??

Thanks, EG
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,193
Message 6 of 6 (2,441 Views)

Re: Enable or disable "Block Wan Ping" option??




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program