Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,514,016

members

7

online now

1,714,723

discussions

Back to Top

Disable Wireless

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎04-12-2012
Posts: 17
Message 1 of 7 (7,272 Views)

Disable Wireless

How can I do this on an Arris TG862?  I'm a tech guy and am frankly baffled why this isn't available. Am I missing something?

6 REPLIES
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎05-31-2009
Posts: 23
Message 2 of 7 (7,248 Views)

Re: Disable Wireless

You cannot manually do it. The most you can do is to disable the SSID broadcast, but if you truly just dont want the wifi or want to bridge the device to use your own router you would need to give us a call 800-363-2416 and we can take care of it for you.

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎04-12-2012
Posts: 17
Message 3 of 7 (7,236 Views)

Re: Disable Wireless

That's exactly what I want to do.  My EMTA is down in the basement in the very corner so I can backfeed the telephone line.  It's wifi only reaches a small portion of the house because of this so I want to use my own wireless router upstairs and bridge the internet with Powerline networking equipment.

 

Can I not do it via the advanced page at 192.168.100.1?  I just need the password of the day Smiley Happy

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,142
Message 4 of 7 (7,234 Views)

Re: Disable Wireless

You need to call. If the above poster is indeed an employee, he is not allowed to divulge the "password of the day" in a public forum.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎04-12-2012
Posts: 17
Message 5 of 7 (7,225 Views)

Re: Disable Wireless

I know, that's why I put the smiley after it.  Anyways, there is this nifty little feature called "Private Message" that wouldn't broadcast it across the internet.

 

Personally I find it incredibley stupid and borderline offensive that they have these EMTA's so locked down.  There's nothing proprietary about bridging my network or turning off wifi.

Posted by
Edited on
‎05-10-2012 03:50 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,142
Message 6 of 7 (7,220 Views)

Re: Disable Wireless

[ Edited ]

chripuck wrote:

Personally I find it incredibley stupid and borderline offensive that they have these EMTA's so locked down. There's nothing proprietary about bridging my network or turning off wifi.


I couldn't agree more ! IMO, they made a big mistake (for many reasons) by deciding to mass supply any type of combo "gateway" devices to subscribers in the first place...




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎04-12-2012
Posts: 17
Message 7 of 7 (7,194 Views)

Re: Disable Wireless

I think they wanted to further validate charging the $7/month for the EMTA.  I still can't believe I can't use my standard Cable Modem with a Linksys VOIP router.