Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,516,243

members

98

online now

1,716,828

discussions

Back to Top

D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-15-2011
Posts: 4
Message 1 of 13 (1,997 Views)

D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

Hello,

 

I have a D-Link DI-514 wireless router and am unable to get any internet access with it.

 

After going through the setup wizard and rebooting, the router can't seem to obtain an ip address for the WAN, it just stays at 0.0.0.0. When I try to get a new IP I receive a timeout error.

 

The modem works fine when I connect it directly to my computer.

I have tried rebooting both the modem and the router with no luck.

I have tried cloning the MAC address of my laptop to the router with no luck.

 

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

 

 

12 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎04-11-2011 07:25 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 2 of 13 (1,988 Views)

edit

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-11-2011 07:26 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 3 of 13 (1,978 Views)

edit

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-15-2011
Posts: 4
Message 4 of 13 (1,977 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

Thanks for the suggestions but the router still can't obtain an IP from Comcast.

 

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-15-2011
Posts: 4
Message 5 of 13 (1,976 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

I don't have the wireless enabled. Right now I am only connecting through a network cable. Would this encryption issue till be a problem?

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-11-2011 07:26 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 6 of 13 (1,970 Views)

edit

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-15-2011
Posts: 4
Message 7 of 13 (1,964 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

I just moved, and Comcast has a 4-8 week delay on their wireless routers, so I found the DI-514 in my closet.

 

This is my first time using Comcast Internet.

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-11-2011 07:26 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 8 of 13 (1,961 Views)

edit

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-11-2011 07:27 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 9 of 13 (1,952 Views)

edit

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Edited on
‎03-15-2011 05:09 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,190
Message 10 of 13 (1,948 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

[ Edited ]

Depress and hold in the recessed reset button on the rear for 30 seconds, then release. Any joy ?

 

Do you happen to have a telephony type modem with a built in backup battery ?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎04-11-2011 07:27 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 11 of 13 (1,938 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,190
Message 12 of 13 (1,934 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

This is a public forum, anyone can join the festivities dude !




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 13 of 13 (1,924 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

Well, either the modem is not resetting completely and there fore not recognizing the MAC adddress of the router or the router is not requesting an IP addres.

Sometines a modem will refuse to reset until all cables are removed Power, Coax and ethernet.

and of Course the backup battery if one is installed

 

Not familiar with DLink but there should be a wau to browse in and go to the tab that controls the public ip address.

There should be a public iP address and Public address for the default gateway..  You need to do a Release and renew in order to get the router to pull the new public ip address through the modem.

 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program