Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,513,853

members

41

online now

1,714,671

discussions

Back to Top

Connection error 651

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎08-17-2010
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 5 (3,463 Views)

Connection error 651

I got a new HP laptop with Windows 7 OS installed.

When I try to create a new network connection I get the "Connection error 651".

Did any of you faced this [roblem before.

4 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎08-17-2010 08:34 AM

Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎10-03-2003
Posts: 5,374
Message 2 of 5 (3,457 Views)

Re: Connection error 651

[ Edited ]

Take a look here. I assume you have a router........basically that article says you may need a router firmware update as the TCP autotuning features in Win7 may have issues with older routers...or there may be an issue with the NIC in your laptop, but I find that somewhat unlikely with a new HP...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎08-17-2010 08:41 AM

Most Valued Poster

Member Since: ‎07-23-2003
Posts: 1,055
Message 3 of 5 (3,456 Views)

Re: Connection error 651

[ Edited ]
 
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎10-03-2003
Posts: 5,374
Message 4 of 5 (3,451 Views)

Re: Connection error 651

Google "Windows 7 Connection Error 651" - there is a lot of information. Hopefully one of the many possible solutions will help you....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎08-10-2011
Posts: 1
Message 5 of 5 (3,158 Views)

Re: Connection error 651

I get this same message, even when I'm already on line.  It doesn't prevent me from doing anything, but it's getting annoying that it just pops up at random.  I'm going to contact Comcast - they need to get into my modem and fix this.