Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,595,166

members

36

online now

1,779,488

discussions

Back to Top

Connection error 651

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎08-17-2010
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 5 (3,522 Views)

Connection error 651

I got a new HP laptop with Windows 7 OS installed.

When I try to create a new network connection I get the "Connection error 651".

Did any of you faced this [roblem before.

4 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎08-17-2010 08:34 AM

Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎10-03-2003
Posts: 5,374
Message 2 of 5 (3,516 Views)

Re: Connection error 651

[ Edited ]

Take a look here. I assume you have a router........basically that article says you may need a router firmware update as the TCP autotuning features in Win7 may have issues with older routers...or there may be an issue with the NIC in your laptop, but I find that somewhat unlikely with a new HP...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions


Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Edited on
‎08-17-2010 08:41 AM

Most Valued Poster

Member Since: ‎07-23-2003
Posts: 1,055
Message 3 of 5 (3,515 Views)

Re: Connection error 651

[ Edited ]
 
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎10-03-2003
Posts: 5,374
Message 4 of 5 (3,510 Views)

Re: Connection error 651

Google "Windows 7 Connection Error 651" - there is a lot of information. Hopefully one of the many possible solutions will help you....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions


Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎08-10-2011
Posts: 1
Message 5 of 5 (3,217 Views)

Re: Connection error 651

I get this same message, even when I'm already on line.  It doesn't prevent me from doing anything, but it's getting annoying that it just pops up at random.  I'm going to contact Comcast - they need to get into my modem and fix this.