Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,518,104

members

19

online now

1,718,883

discussions

Back to Top

Connecting Wii to the Internet

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎06-27-2010
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 8 (2,796 Views)

Connecting Wii to the Internet

I have internet, phone and cable through comcast and would like to hook up my internet to the Wii.  Do I require an adaptor from the wall?

7 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎06-30-2003
Posts: 7,155
Message 2 of 8 (2,792 Views)

Re: Connecting Wii to the Internet

Do you have a router

 

otherwise you need to buy a wii wireless network adapter or cable to hook up to computer USB port




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎12-28-2009
Posts: 85
Message 3 of 8 (2,789 Views)

Re: Connecting Wii to the Internet

Actually the wii has built in wireless, so if you have a router you should be able to hook up.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎09-22-2009
Posts: 3
Message 4 of 8 (2,701 Views)

Re: Connecting Wii to the Internet

i don't have wireless so to hook up internet to wii do i run a cable from wii to the modem or to computer usb?

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-19-2011 11:56 AM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,211
Message 5 of 8 (2,691 Views)

Re: Connecting Wii to the Internet

[ Edited ]

If the Wii has a ethernet port you can run a cat5/6 ethernet cable from it to the modem. If it doesn't have ethernet then you need one of these USB adapters;

 

http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/systems/wii/en_na/getOnline/wired.jsp

 

You will need to reset that eMTA/modem by using the recessed reset button on the rear each and every time you change between having a computer or the Wii directly connected to it. To avoid having to always do this and to be able to have both online at the same time you would need to use a router.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎09-22-2009
Posts: 3
Message 6 of 8 (2,662 Views)

Re: Connecting Wii to the Internet

thank you so much you've been very helpful

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎09-22-2009
Posts: 3
Message 7 of 8 (2,624 Views)

Re: Connecting Wii to the Internet

how exactly

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎10-03-2003
Posts: 5,374
Message 8 of 8 (2,617 Views)

Re: Connecting Wii to the Internet

 


kerrieanddave wrote:

how exactly


what are you looking for help with here?

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program