Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,611,332

members

10

online now

1,793,072

discussions

Back to Top

Conflicting information from Comcast about IPv6 availability

SOLVED
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎06-19-2012
Posts: 11
Message 1 of 4 (879 Views)

Conflicting information from Comcast about IPv6 availability

I've been trying to figure out how, or when I can get IPv6 on my business Internet account. This is important to me because I am in the software/website hosting business and my clients are starting to see native IPv6 connections on their devices.

 

My modem is the SMC D3G-CCR which appears to be capable of IPv6. Several forum messages say that IPv6 should be available to me, but my modem does not have/get an IPv6 address.

 

Also, this official Comcast resource hasn't been working in about six months: http://www.comcast6.net/index.php/8-ipv6-trial-news-and-information/108-want-to-know-if-comcast-ipv6...

 

How do I get IPv6,if it's really available here and, if not, where can I get up-to-date information?

 

 

3 REPLIES
Highlighted
Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎01-22-2010
Posts: 33
Message 2 of 4 (829 Views)

Re: Conflicting information from Comcast about IPv6 availability

Hello,

 

I run the IPv6 program for Comcast.  I can tell you that we launched full IPv6 suppot for the SMC D3G CCR.  If you are in router mode your router will be assigned a /128 IPv6 address and a /56 delegated prefix by default.  The best way to verify is to do the following:

 

* Reboot your SMC

* Connected an IPv6 enabled computer to the SMC

* Visit http://test-ipv6.comcast.net

 

An IPv6 should appear on the page, if not then feel free to contact me offline.

 

John




Community Icon
I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: Product, Support, Leadership.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am an Offical Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am a Comcast Employee.
Please post so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,749
Message 3 of 4 (812 Views)

Re: Conflicting information from Comcast about IPv6 availability

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎06-19-2012
Posts: 11
Message 4 of 4 (839 Views)

Re: Conflicting information from Comcast about IPv6 availability

Thanks John,

 

It works! Last time I tried rebooting the modem it didn't get an IPv6 address, but yesterday (Jan 6, 2015) it did.

 

All is working as expected now. Happy 2015.