Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

online now

discussions

Comcast DNS servers are dropping constantly (75.75.75.75 and 75.75.76.76)

SOLVED
Posted by
New Poster
  • Congratulations on earning 5 kudos! Your great contributions have been much appreciated by the community.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Message 1 of 27

I work in IT and it is abosultely infuriating that there appears to be no way to get Comcat/Xfinity to acknowledge that the problem with their internet service it THEIR problem. 

Comcast has two default DNS servers 75.75.75.75 and 75.75.76.76 and they are both dropping at least 50 % of the time, they simply cannot handle the traffic. This has been sever for the last two days. I call the support line and went through the script with the help desk person there. Powercycled everything, isolated down to just the Comcast Modem using two different computers on two different operating systems and the results were always the same....

Both Comcast DNS servers are not able to handle requests. 

To drive home the point, Google has two public DNS servers, 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 both of which have a 100% response capability. For the last two days I have had them programed so that I can use the internet and all is working fine. 

Like I said before I work in IT, I found a problem, and I am trying to report it. I have a work around, but other non-IT customers are being left frustrated. Please get the word to Comcast to fix their DNS servers.

Picture for details (7/23/13 noon in Minneapolis)

http://i.imgur.com/W5WYcDI.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Posted by
New Poster

Message 2 of 27
Solution

I would suggest also the opendns servers