Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,516,778

members

13

online now

1,717,457

discussions

Back to Top

Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

SOLVED
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎09-21-2012
Posts: 3
Message 1 of 7 (61,733 Views)

Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

Modem/router is only a few weeks old, was able to login several times using defaults of admin ID and password PS, now get authentication failure. Did a power cycle and a less than 15 sec reset, did not fix, did not change password ??

6 REPLIES
Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-15-2009
Posts: 2,818
Message 2 of 7 (61,724 Views)

Re: Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

Try clearing the browser cache, if no good, try a factory reset. (Hold the reset button in over 15 seconds), you will lose any settings in the router. If that fails call the tech's at 800 363 2416 Let us know how it goes, thanks...
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎09-21-2012
Posts: 3
Message 3 of 7 (61,604 Views)

Re: Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

Cleared the browser cache, no change, not sure what settings I will loose doing a major reset ( phone settings etc..).

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 4 of 7 (70,024 Views)

Re: Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

A reset to default should not bother your phones, other than when the gateway is temporarily unavailable while the reset is happening.  It will, however, remove ALL of your router specific setttings.

 

If you still have a problem after the reset or don't want to do it yourself, call the folks at 800-363-2416.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎09-21-2012
Posts: 3
Message 5 of 7 (61,076 Views)

Re: Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

Did a ~ 1 minute reset, problem fixed, also fixed wireless connection problems.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎08-14-2013
Posts: 1
Message 6 of 7 (51,770 Views)

Re: Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

I called Comcast "tech support" 4 times for an ip issue they set in their modem, Arris tg862g, and they repeatdly tried sending me to their signature service and pay $15 to fix the issue. After a lot of research, I found your post on the 1 minute reset that no one in Comcast tech support knows about and it worked perfectly. Thank you! You got rid of my headache and saved me some money.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,195
Message 7 of 7 (51,762 Views)

Re: Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

Year old marked solved thread now closed.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program