Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,497,987

members

5

online now

1,703,782

discussions

Arris TG852 modem/router

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎07-07-2011
Posts: 9
Message 1 of 6 (4,108 Views)

Arris TG852 modem/router

I've had this equipment for the last 5 weeks and notice my Ipad and Iphone take forever to connect to WiFi. It never happened with previous modem and Netgear router. I'm thinking of disabling router and connecting my own router.  Anyone can recommend a good router for this Xfinity Gateway router?  Would this solve the problem?

5 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,697
Message 2 of 6 (4,100 Views)

Re: Arris TG852 modem/router

From the many posts we have been seeing in these forums it seems that the wireless performance of that device is abysmal and the range is short and unreliable. Yes. It is advisable to call in and have Comcast place it in to "bridge" so that it acts as any other plain vanilla cable modem and then you use your own high quality wireless capable router with it.

Use this number to reach the gateway support folks; 1-800-363-2416.






Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎07-07-2011
Posts: 9
Message 3 of 6 (4,095 Views)

Re: Arris TG852 modem/router

Thanks, I'm going to get my own router.  I'm thinking of the Netgear WNR3500L.  Do you think this is a good choice?

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 4 of 6 (4,071 Views)

Re: Arris TG852 modem/router

That router will work fine in most situations, but it's not your best performer.  I would personally step up to the WNDR4000 or WNDR4500, or the Linksys EA3500 or EA4500 models. It all depends on your exact needs.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎07-07-2011
Posts: 9
Message 5 of 6 (4,062 Views)

Re: Arris TG852 modem/router

Thank you, I just purchased a WDNR3700 dual band Netgear.  I just saw your e-mail this morning, so I had already purchased it and installed it.  IT works great, now I can go anywhere in my house and be connected.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,697
Message 6 of 6 (4,056 Views)

Re: Arris TG852 modem/router

Happy surfing ! Smiley Happy




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program