Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,516,797

members

35

online now

1,717,487

discussions

Back to Top

Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-07-2006
Posts: 7
Message 1 of 16 (2,424 Views)

Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

Just bought a Linksys WRT54G router to replace the old Linksys BEFW11S4 "b" router (that works).  Could not get any internet connection with the new router and the Arris modem that Comcast provides.  I spent an hour and one half with the Linksys folks and they/we tried EVERYTHING to get it to work.  Turns out that the new router is not "compatible" with the Arris modem...  I called Comcast and they said that this modem does not support the new router and said we'd have to get their own modem/router at $7-$8 bucks a month rental.
 
any suggestions, or am I stuck?
15 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,195
Message 2 of 16 (2,416 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

O/k..... This may seem like a silly question..... but I gotta ask.
 
Did they have you hit the reset button on the Arris Modem after you connected the Router to it ?



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-07-2006
Posts: 7
Message 3 of 16 (2,411 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

no, they had me power cycle the router (unplug), the modem (unplug) and power down the PC.  Then, power up the Modem, router then PC.  Never hit the "reset" which I believe is the standby button on the front?
Posted by
Edited on
‎11-07-2006 09:47 PM

Most Valued Poster

Member Since: ‎03-12-2005
Posts: 1,966
Message 4 of 16 (2,412 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

[ Edited ]
Other users have been successful setting up a network with the Arris modem and the WRT54G.
 
Follow these instructions carefully:

Turn everything off – cable modem, router, PC(s) – and let them sit for a few minutes. Since the Arris modem has a battery backup you will need to press and hold its reset button for at least 30 seconds.

The order in which you do the following steps is critical - don't improvise! Turn on the cable modem, and let it come all the way up. Connect the WAN port of the router (the one that’s by itself) to the cable modem, and turn on the router. Wait for the router to come all the way up. Connect your PC to one of the LAN ports on the router (there are usually 4 of them, grouped together), and boot the PC. Repeat for any other hard-wired PCs.

Last, boot up your wireless PC/laptop, and let it find the wireless signal. Once it’s working properly, check the top thread in the Home Networking forum about how to secure the wireless connection and prevent others from stealing your bandwidth.
 
(Thank You EarlyOut for this great advice!)

Message Edited by nicubird on 11-07-200607:30 PM

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-07-2006
Posts: 7
Message 5 of 16 (2,407 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

ok, i see the reset on the back...
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,195
Message 6 of 16 (2,399 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

You can't just unplug the Arris Modem to reset it, it has a backup Battery that keeps it active.
 
You have to use the manual reset button on the back.
 
And no, it is not the standby button that is used for this purpose.



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,195
Message 7 of 16 (2,396 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

Wow Birdie..... I haven't yet caught my breath !!! Smiley Wink



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Most Valued Poster

Member Since: ‎03-12-2005
Posts: 1,966
Message 8 of 16 (2,392 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.



EG wrote:
Wow Birdie..... I haven't yet caught my breath !!! Smiley Wink


Gotta love a plagiarized macro
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-07-2006
Posts: 7
Message 9 of 16 (2,391 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

thanks.  it was so frustrating to be on the phone with these folks for so long.  as soon as i can, i'll try your advice. 
 
to be sure... unplug everything, use the reset on the modem (while still unplugged) and then follow the order you recommend.
 
thanks.
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,195
Message 10 of 16 (2,387 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

Birdie ??



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎11-07-2006 10:27 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,195
Message 11 of 16 (2,374 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

[ Edited ]
>>"I called Comcast and they said that this modem does not support the new router and said we'd have to get their own modem/router at $7-$8 bucks a month rental."
 
 
 
I find that to be unconscionable advice, and that the CSR should have said that it is not that that Modem does not support the Router, but that they don't, and won't, support a users personally owned Router, which is the truth.
 

Message Edited by EG on 11-07-2006 10:29 PM




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-07-2006
Posts: 7
Message 12 of 16 (2,360 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

got it to work.  now the linksys setup page won't let me enable encryption or MAC filter, is there something I need to turn off/on in order to change these settings? thanks!
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-07-2006
Posts: 7
Message 13 of 16 (2,357 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

p.s. it also won't let me enable wireless MAC filtering... hmmm
Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,247
Message 14 of 16 (2,347 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

Have you updated the firmware?
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-07-2006
Posts: 7
Message 15 of 16 (2,344 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

yes, did that as well.
 
turns out that my browser was loaded with too much cache, had to delete cookies, cache etc. and the website worked.  security settings are set, thanks everyone!
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,195
Message 16 of 16 (2,331 Views)

Re: Arris Modem and Linksys - WRT54G router problems.

>>"turns out that my browser was loaded with too much cache, had to delete cookies, cache etc. and the website worked.
 
 
Glad you got it resolved, and for what it's worth, that Addy is not a Website on the Internet, it's the Router's built in Web Server.



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program