Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,514,337

members

45

online now

1,714,883

discussions

Back to Top

Accessing a Comcast/Netgear modem router

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎07-20-2008
Posts: 9
Message 1 of 3 (3,624 Views)

Accessing a Comcast/Netgear modem router

I have a friend that has a Comcast provided Netgear CG814WG combo modem/wireless router. I have read that the default user name is admin and the password is password. I have also heard from a Comcast tech that the user name is comcast and password is 1234. Which one is the right one?

Also, before I try to secure it. She tells me that when her wireless laptop tries to go on line, that it will knock the wired home computer off line. Any ideas on why that happens.

Thanks.

2 REPLIES
Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎02-26-2009
Posts: 549
Message 2 of 3 (3,602 Views)

Re: Accessing a Comcast/Netgear modem router

If it's the one device, the modem and router all in one the correct user name and password is comcast and 1234. 

 

Second there is no reason if she is connecting wirelessly it should knock her computer off the network as well.  The only possible problem is that she is trying to access the router wirelessly and in doing something to the router's setting she's removing her connection. 

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-18-2009 12:08 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,144
Message 3 of 3 (3,596 Views)

Re: Accessing a Comcast/Netgear modem router

[ Edited ]

jjv124 wrote:

 

Second there is no reason if she is connecting wirelessly it should knock her computer off the network as well. 


It could be that it somehow got/is configured to allow only a single DHCP client.

 

But if that were so, the laptop shouldn't connect at all and the wired machine should remain connected. The first computer that the DHCP server sees gets the IP address. Weird..

 

To the original poster. Tell your friend to call in to Comcast home networking for support. That is what she is paying the extra monthly fee for.

Message Edited by EG on 04-18-2009 12:08 PM



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program