Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,598,466

members

31

online now

1,782,129

discussions

Back to Top

Access to xfinity router

SOLVED
Posted by
Visitor

Member Since: ‎09-08-2012
Posts: 5
Message 1 of 13 (97,530 Views)

Access to xfinity router

Good Morning.

My imac is hooked up to the internet via xfinity WLAN router Arris TG 862. wifi network works just fine.

 

Now, I tried to initially get into the configuration menu of the router via http:10.0.0.1. I entered username "admin" and password "password" as described in the user manual page 8. The message "authentication failed" comes up. I then disconnected power supply of the router and pressed reset for 20 sec. tried to log in again. same error message.” Can anyone help there? Do I need to connect an ethernet cable to get access to the router?

 
12 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎09-08-2012 12:35 PM

Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎02-22-2007
Posts: 6,247
Message 2 of 13 (97,528 Views)

Re: Access to xfinity router

[ Edited ]

delete

Posted by
Visitor

Member Since: ‎09-08-2012
Posts: 5
Message 3 of 13 (97,521 Views)

Re: Access to xfinity router

delete?

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,857
Message 4 of 13 (97,511 Views)

Re: Access to xfinity router

Not saying this will solve your issue, just an FYI. When resetting a unit back to factory defaults, the unit needs to be powered on when the reset button is depressed. Hold it in for 30-40 seconds or so.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor

Member Since: ‎09-08-2012
Posts: 5
Message 5 of 13 (97,495 Views)

Re: Access to xfinity router

Ok. Pushed the reset for 1 minute while power connected. back to http://10.0.0.1. Entered "admin" and "password" again. Result: "Authentication failed". 

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,857
Message 6 of 13 (97,488 Views)

Re: Access to xfinity router

Try removing the battery and disconnecting the power cord at the same time for a minute.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor

Member Since: ‎09-08-2012
Posts: 5
Message 7 of 13 (97,480 Views)

Re: Access to xfinity router

I hate to say it: It did not work. same error message.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,857
Message 8 of 13 (97,478 Views)

Re: Access to xfinity router

My last suggestion would be to try using admin for both the user name and the password. Other than that, there are known current firmware issues with that device. Comcast will readily swap it for you.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor

Member Since: ‎09-08-2012
Posts: 5
Message 9 of 13 (111,595 Views)

Re: Access to xfinity router

Your final suggestion did not help either. Thank you very much for your help anyways. I will try to swap it.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,857
Message 10 of 13 (97,473 Views)

Re: Access to xfinity router

Good luck with it ! Smiley Happy

 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎08-25-2012
Posts: 13
Message 11 of 13 (97,333 Views)

Re: Access to xfinity router

Try adding an s to the end of http and enter admin as the username and password as the password.  So it would look like https://10.0.0.1 instead of http://10.0.0.1.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎11-01-2007
Posts: 1
Message 12 of 13 (64,050 Views)

Re: Access to xfinity router

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,857
Message 13 of 13 (64,017 Views)

Re: Access to xfinity router

Two year old thread now being closed.



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon