Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,597,484

members

25

online now

1,781,445

discussions

Back to Top

ARRIS TG862

SOLVED
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎04-17-2012
Posts: 191
Message 1 of 13 (138,136 Views)

ARRIS TG862

Comcast internet & phone installed today. I want to use my own security key but I can't connect via 192.168.0.1 to get to setup. Any ideas?

12 REPLIES
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎04-17-2012
Posts: 191
Message 2 of 13 (144,552 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

Nevedrmind. I found it here.... http://10.0.0.1.

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎04-21-2012
Posts: 14
Message 3 of 13 (137,985 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

What's the admin u/n and p/w?

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,827
Message 4 of 13 (137,979 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

"admin" & "password".




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-06-2006
Posts: 2
Message 5 of 13 (137,339 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

Do you know how to change you r IP through this?

 

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 6 of 13 (137,334 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862


lsteven15 wrote:

Do you know how to change you r IP through this?

 


Short answer: You can't, not reliably.  You can unplug gateway and disconnect the coax for upwards of 7 days, but there's no guarantee you won't get the same IP address again when you reconnect.

 

Long answer:  This gateway is very short on features and had many "issues".  This is one, you have no control of the gateway's WAN MAC address that's exposed to the modem function, hence you have no way to force an IP change.  Of course, there's no reason to do this (legitimate anyway), so it's no big deal.  If you want you can have the gateway put into bridge mode (call 800-363-2416) and get your own router.  I recommend this anyway for many other reasons since these gateways are pure junk, but since your new router has a different WAN MAC address, the side effect is that you get a new IP address.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎05-24-2012
Posts: 1
Message 7 of 13 (137,319 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

Thanks for your answer. Of course we all have our own reasons. So, what is the diference between adding a router and changing the MAC on the PC?

 

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 8 of 13 (137,295 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

Changing the PC's MAC address is meaningless unless THAT is the MAC exposed directly to the cable modem.  Comcast assigns IP addresses to exposed MAC addresses, so different MAC addresses get different IP's.  The same MAC is usually assigned the same IP address each and every time, which is why your IP address stays the same for long periods of time even though techinically it's dynamic and each lease only lasts at most 7 days.  Unless your exposed MAC address changes (ie the WAN interface on your router), you almost always get the same IP address.  And the MAC addresses of all interfaces BEHIND the router are meaningless in this process as they are hidden behind the router's NAT layer.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 9 of 13 (137,203 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

Different issue entirely, breaking out into a new thread...

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-05-2012
Posts: 1
Message 10 of 13 (129,807 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

how do I find my routers' username and password to access it?

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,827
Message 11 of 13 (124,157 Views)
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,827
Message 12 of 13 (100,458 Views)
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 53,827
Message 13 of 13 (100,457 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

Year old thread closed.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon